Where do you give your energy?

in #life7 years ago (edited)

This has been the ultimate question and lesson of 2017 for me.

I started the year focused on all the problems in the world, the problems in my life, and after a few months on steemit, the problems at steemit. To be sure, there are many. Recently, I’ve learned to change my focus to whatever positive I can find. In 2018 I want to continue to focus on the positive things I can do to make my life better, to make the world better and to make steemit better.

Wherever we give our energy, we are actually giving our energy. The more you focus on something, the more power you give it.

That means that the more you focus on someone or something you don’t like, the stronger you make it. Do you see it yet? Whether it be an orange guy with trigger happy (small) fingers on Twitter, the “deep state”, “The Russians”(!), social justice warriors, the alt-right, or @rewardpoolrape, it works the same. Your energy goes where’s your attention goes.

You may be right!

You really might be right about everything! Great. Recognize something you don’t desire to be. Post about it if you want. Do what you can do to make the world closer to how you believe it should be. But be very aware that the more emotion and attention you give something, the stronger it becomes. The more scared you are of something happening, the more likely you are to help make it into a reality. You can do so much more by calmly recognizing the problem and without any fear or hate, just do what you believe is right. Don’t get so emotionally involved if you can help it, because if you do, you work against yourself.

Keep love in your heart and work to spread something you believe in, not to destroy something you don’t.

I’ve been working hard to train myself to keep a cool head and make sure I give a majority of my energy to creating a positive outcome rather than avoiding a negative one.

Where do you give your energy?

01D12799-1356-41EE-AB5D-15CC079E87D8.jpeg

image link


IMG_1406.JPG

Join the "Be Awesome" community

The Be Awesome discord chat, was created with the intention of making deeper connections with fellow steemians. Come talk about "deep shit", practice languages or make friends.

Be Awesome discord channel

Confessions of the Damaged - a collection of short storie

—-
U5drTgnBQ2qzxT9o1kcF5PmjeLSEKi1_1680x8400.jpg
by @skyleap

Sort:  

Like the saying - reap what you sow. It works pretty well for me. Whenever something unusual is happening, I get that feeling that I have manifested it with my thoughts and actions and what I chose to focus on at the moment. Sometimes it's a positive one, sometimes a negative one. But it works, and with each moment I'm getting closer to be able to see the positive in everything.

That’s a good place to be! It is “reap what you so” but on a level that often goes ignored. I’m in good company!

I used to have a really bad habit of getting frustrated with friends and continuing to stay friends with them even though they would make my gut turn when I would have to hang out with them (it wasn't always like that, I did like them at one point). I didn't think I had any other option because they had been around for so long. Now instead of focusing my energy on how I'll get through the couple of hours I have to spend with them, I have just closed them off from my life. I've moved on and learned that my life is no different with them in it than with them not in it and I FEEL soooooo much better. I can put my energy elsewhere now. Sometimes we put energy into negatives things we think we can't let go of, but we can!

Yes, most people want us to remain the same just to protect our relationships with them when in fact we are growing and learning and they are staying still. I try to just be a fluffy ball of sunshine for a while and hope to push them forward a little but if it doesn’t work, oh well. I have one friend who really brings this out of me. I used to get all whiny with him, and now his whining brings out a ridiculous amount of positivity thst he can take or leave. If he insists on whining, I won’t see him for a month or two. He’s getting better.

I am really enjoying your foray into deeper topics. ^_^

There is certainly truth to the notion that when one puts energy into something, one contributes to it coming to be - even if very indirectly so.

To what degree this is so is debatable - perhaps we'll be better placed to answer this when we better figure out our place in the universe.

I was born on deeper topics! Check out my first two months here! I took a break cause people seem to engage more on “yay litecoin, steemit steemit” and I don’t mind talking about that either.

But this is what the deepshit tag is for :-)

I love the post!
We have a similar idea about it but I look at it from a psychological point of view and call it focus, I was talking about it in one of my latest videos. Our mind is like a search engine and the more you think and focus on things, you will see them more and recognize more related patterns.
Thank you for a great post ^^

Some things are true on many levels, it doesn’t matter which level you look at it from, as long as it holds true, right?

As long as they work and have a positive impact I don't mind :)

That’s awesome :-)

I do watch the news sometimes, for example, but simply send love and light to all the areas of the world that I connect with.

That’s also a wonderful way to be...as long as you can stay firm in the mindset you are already in. When we are really at our best, nothin really brings us down and we can see the good in what looks bad. It’s nice to check in on the world of chaos sometimes.

That’s right @whatamidoing! We can affect the world greatly in a positive way, but not take the negativity on our shoulders!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 55825.83
ETH 2516.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28