I care about what people think.

in #life6 years ago

I know it’s cool to say we don’t care what others think. People say it as a kind of declaration of self confidence. Not caring means being strong and independent and focused on doing things our own way. But can’t we be strong and independent and focused and still care what others think?

When I say I care, I don’t mean that I feel any self doubt when others doubt me. I don’t mean that I’ll change the way I do things just because someone disapproves or no one understands. I don’t mean I’m going to cave in or give up. I just mean that I care.

I want to live harmoniously with others. I want to collaborate. I want to connect. I want to find a way to meet others halfway. I am not such an egoist as to say that others don’t matter. I know that being able to connect with others as my true self requires me first to BE my true self and so that still comes first. No one else can express my truth for me so I must strive to express what is true for me at all costs, while still being open to change and continuously growing.

But I still care what others think.
Recently, a bartender at a central meeting point for many people in my social circle became quite hostile when I referred to “whatever bars” while talking to another customer. I was referring to bars that have no sense of community and are merely catering to people in order to earn more money. He was deeply offended by this and gave me a lecture about how I shouldn’t use that word. I was really confused, but as I was not speaking English, my native language, I guessed that the word I used was far more sharp than I had assumed it to be and that he didn’t like me calling other people “a waste of space”.

When I messaged him to say sorry and ask about the nuance of the word I discovered that he had misheard me and thought that I was referring to that particularly bar we were at, which not only does he work at, but which is owned by someone he really respects. I told him that was not what I said. He did not believe me.

“Don’t worry about it. It’s his problem.”

Here is why I care: I initially really liked this guy and wanted to know him better. I go to that bar with the sole motive of connecting to like minded people because they are known for being a hub for underground culture in the city and I thought it’d be a good place to meet those people. It still seems like it might be but as with most people in this culture, everyone is quite slow to open up. Now I’
I’ve got this big awkward with this guy. It does not make things easier.

If he doesn’t want to forgive me for what I never said, there is not much I can do about it, I’ll leave it be. If no one I meet there is looking to be friends, ok, I’ll do with that and stop going. If I can’t make any deep connection with a like-minded community in this city, so be it, I’ll focus on my own thing. I’m strong enough to not fall into drama or change my behavior if it goes against how I feel. But I’m still sad...

I’m sad that someone who is obviously like-minded is also so overly sensitive and hurt inside from whatever he has been through that he is looking to make an enemy out of an ally. I’m sad that there is nothing I can do. I’m sad that despite everyone really believing in their own “counter” culture, they do not see how influenced they’ve been by the mainstream they disagree with. I am not offended when people look at me and just treat me like a generic foreigner either, I just feel sad.

If I had a deep connection to some people around me, I think it’d be easy to ignore, but I still do not. I am just left feeling it will be more difficult to find such a community when those who are most like-minded so easily shut you out.

I know in the end it is all up to me and what I make of the situation. I think I will retreat a bit from this push to find a community that fits me and in my free time, instead focus entirely on my personal projects and hibernate a bit until Spring arrives.

It’s a bit lonely but I was lonely when I found this platform and that turned out for the best.

action-adult-angry-37547.jpg

arr

Sort:  

I just really want to hug you right now. You are one of the kindest and most thoughtful people I know. I am so glad you are in a community of sorts with me.

One of my biggest fears is being misunderstood. I can be irreverent sometimes with my humour and people can misconstrue what I say. I never mean harm, but sometimes my words can land wrong. Awkward. And it's the stuff of nightmares for me because I don't ever intend to hurt people and HATE being misunderstood....

Posted using Partiko Android

this kind of feels like a hug haha

One day we will have our version of steemfest and it'll be brilliant fun and we will realize that we are more than a community "of sorts".

I can relate to that fear of being misunderstood. When I was younger I always said "I don't care if people dislike me, I just want them to understand me." I think going to live where I stood out eventually just forced me to get over the fear of being misunderstood. It still doesn't make me happy but when it happens it happens. I just want to have people who understand me around, it's ok if the rest don't understand, I don't need to focus on them.

Right now it's just hard because the only people who understand are so busy I can only see them once or twice a month whereas in the past I was able to live with a group of people who were living the same truths as me and we had a shared sense of purpose that we felt every single day.

This is also why I've had a complicated relationship with art. I don't really care about being the center of attention, I just want to attract people who I can have understanding with, where our energy does not subtract from each other, only fulfills each other.

Oh yes me too. My soul mates live so far away. They understand me completely and LOVE ME ANYWAY. That's what's so precious. And I do think we are developing friendships here too that say: Hey! See you.. and still think you are pretty great. I think its coz we give each other a chance. We listen. We drop in to see each other... where have you been? You okay? How can I help? ... and we all remind each other every day what is important!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh I have to jump right in here and say, yes indeed lovely River, love you xxxxx

Oh and yes!!! I think art was never originally about earning. It's about relating, and being understood. Xxx Expressing!!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

I feel you @whatamidoing, it is hard to reach out to some who can be defensive for various reasons, his reaction for sure is a reflection of where he is at in his life. You just need to keep being you and in time he will see you for who you are, you have done all you can. When I first came to the community I am at now I realized how tight knit they were and it takes time to be seen for who you really are, I am not very sociable and prefer to just be gentle in my approach to others and yes in time they got to know me.

No one else can express my truth for me so I must strive to express what is true for me at all costs, while still being open to change and continuously growing.

I love what you say here, your truth and wisdom shine through, love the above especially. Much tribe love to you brother xxx

Yes, it’s just a shame because nothing is bridging me to this community except for my effort to connect with it, I haven’t gotten much on the other end and the size of the city and the fact that my main way to connect with the community right now is as a customer....means we may not make a connection in the end because I don’t plan on customer being my main role in a community.

It will all work out one way or another, it’s not like they are the only community I could connect to in the city, I just thought it would be easier because we have many mutual friends.

If people are like minded, misunderstandings take their time and pass. Sometimes, they lead to good friendships. I believe if you tried to communicate again after few days, things will be much easier. Our reactions are more influenced by our inner state than what triggered it in the first place. That is why we usually react to the same trigger differently specially those of us who are more emotional.

You are right but I think because this guy and the community still think of me as a stranger so it might be awkward for a while. That’s ok, there is so much to explore in the meantime

Pineapple San, I think I am able to understand what you meant here. But I think the like-mindedness do have a limit. You can never measure the degree of like-mindedness. The things which are casual for me may sometimes offend you.

So I guess, what I am trying to say is there always will be things that may offend like-minded peoples.

Well it’s rare to find someone with the same interests and politics as myself, especially a group. Obviously every person is different though. I’m just surprised at how sensitive this guy was. But oh well

Well, shit happens.!!!

Hi @whatamidoing!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.016 which ranks you at #1067 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 4 places in the last three days (old rank 1063).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 235 contributions, your post is ranked at #98.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64349.20
ETH 2673.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83