Channeling anger into something greater

in #life5 years ago

The other day I tried my hand at playing music in the street. It just so happened that almost everyone I'm friends with wanted to meet on Friday and so I invited 4 different groups of people along. 9 of us had dinner and then came to watch me play in the street.

I played a song and a half and the cops came. "We had a noise complaint". No they didn't. We all know that there are no residential buildings around and people have been playing music at the station all week for 20 years. But since the station was renovated, the cops have been cracking down on busking.

It's all part of the plan to make the area a major shopping center, something which residents had tried to resist for 40 years, but developers here are patient and so 6 years ago the old market was torn down to make a parking lot and a big road was paved out where the above ground train tracks used to be, now the train is below ground.

"It's for safety" they say, but it's sure funny how department stores started cropping up in this neighborhood, funny how accidents happened when landlords didn't want to give up their land, funny how police are patrolling the area constantly to scare away all the hippies. We've all seen this so many times before, we know the only reason they neighborhood is being redesigned is to maximize profit of people who have the most lobbying power.

So when the cop stopped me i just asked him "So this town is dead now?". That flustered him. Most people are too scared to talk back, but I wasn't talking back, I was just making conversation and he shat on my day so I wanted him to know how unappreciated he was. Thankfully I'm in a place where cops are not supposed to be allowed to abuse residents or citizens, and I had enough friendly witnesses around to know he wouldn't abuse his power. I wish I had said more about his position as a dog for rich folk but I was trying not to let my annoyance turn to rage, because I didnt want to cross the line and actually have him write up a report which might show up in a database.

This is the kind of thing which used to infuriate me. I'd go into week long rants about how fucked up the world is. I'd scare people away in the process and end up depressed with little energy to do anything. This time is different though.

I'm channeling this energy. I am using this anger as fuel for productivity. I'm using it to help me overcome my fears of failure and my fear of being myself. I realized that when I stay calm, absolutely no one sides with the police in this situation. The worst I might get is a "Stay out of trouble!" from my parents, but at this point I don't even think it'll phase me like it used to.

I'm doubling down on who I really am, taking this as an opportunity to share my truth more openly and with less fear. I used to be scared of painting a Target on my back by being too vocal, but I'm starting to realize that fear will only lead us into a darker and darker place where none of us are happy and where we end up destroying ourselves.

If we all stay quiet, what will change? Power will become more and more concentrated and our freedom will become more and more colonized by those whose will is to control us.

On the other hand, if we react out of rage and fear and hate, it will give them an excuse to clamp down even harder.

The only choice we have, if we want to see a brighter and freer world, is to work on staying compassionate and face fear as firmly as we can, drawing boundaries where we can, and speaking up where we can't, encouraging others to question the rules and to join us, without pressuring them to do so.

A majority is not required to make a difference, the minority just needs to be more unified and firm in their convictions to cause change. Massive action may also be a catalyst for change, but daily interactions are catalyst for larger action, and for cultural change.

I may have been forced to shut down my performance, but I did not let it ruin my night. We bought some beers and went right back to where we were and joked around and made friends with some of the people around us. Despite the attempts to turn the area into a cultural wasteland where people just spend money, the station is still well known among passionate people and artists and so there are always lots of loiterers, so we made friends with a few. I had a chance to introduce artist friends to worker bee friends and they shared ideas and become comfortable with each other. I ran into a friend I hadn't seen in 10 years.

It turned into an awesome, meaningful night. The anger is still there, no doubt, but I'm still channeling it. In the past I'd be scared to share all this, but the anger has helped me to be more open which feels so good because this is who I am! Being censored once has given me the drive to stop self-censoring to a much larger degree in my daily life. I'll even share this story with some students. Why not?

The key is staying rooted in love. Even anger can be rooted in love. This anger is fuel for me to spread love and make life better for those around me, and most importantly to be myself with greater conviction and less fear.

Thank you Mr. Policeman for doing your job and being a dick. You are a blessing in disguise!

I can still busk online! If you like what I'm about, I encourage you to check out my stories and songs at I+Everything

Peace and love, even to dickhead cops!

IMG_20190721_000704_147.jpg

Sort:  

I think how you handled that and that one liner was perfect. Little things like that tend to hack people's brains whereas the angry ranting just makes them dig in and pretend even harder to thremselves that they are totally right and justified (even if their position requires the most ridiculous and illogical mental gymnastics to maintain the delusion XD).

Exactly! I know all too well the desire to want to try and tell him how awful he is but I know just as well hown futile that approach is. The structures he's built up in his mind aren't going to budge through force....all i can do is launch pollen into the air and hope it blows into his castle!

You wise soul you. That is a hilarious picture. It is nice to see you respond to this situation equanimously. It is hard to walk that fine line but in the end this is much for you psychologically. Speak up but dont lose your cool, act of of love and compassion... not bad rules to live by my friend. Still sorry that your evening was ruined in some regard comma but looks like you guys made the most of it anyway.

Posted using Partiko Android

It wasn't ruined!!! I feel so thankful for this, forced me to "man the fuck up" and speak openly about this kind of thing. Today I talked to students about consensus building as opposed to one-person-one-vote. I rarely had the guts to talk about this with students before this event. Sure hope I don't run into it again though!!

sad sad sad - the usa is turning into a police state before our very eyes... and we are letting it happen because we need numbers to stand up and we dont have them.

You can only focus on what you can do. Even numbers can't neccesarily stand up against a police force, but passion and love can! Remember these people have families, you might be influencing their kids and wives and husband's which will in turn influence them and how they do their job. And not every negative thing has a negative after effect. I look at Hong Kong as a beautiful example. The gradual militarization of police and crackdown have lead to a huge transformation of culture where people are more social aware and community oriented. Of course it's not the majority, but 1% to 20% is massive and changes the whole cultural narrative. They are no longer just focused on economics and care much more about human issues and a balance of individuality and community now.

this is very encouraging news - thank you for sharing it with me.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Yes this sad to read that this happen. 😕😕

Hi @whatamidoing!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.058 which ranks you at #1084 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 1 places in the last three days (old rank 1085).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 149 contributions, your post is ranked at #28.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62943.85
ETH 2464.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55