A single word can change your life

in #life5 years ago

I often have to work in 3-4 hour blocks without any room for anything else, not even much of a toilet break unless it's an emergency. It's not computer work or desk work, i need to focus constantly, ans can't check my phone or space out. This isn't always easy cause I love spacing out.

When I started it was new and kind of fun, but as I got used to it I started to dread the long periods where my attention was not my own , where I constantly need to focus on other people. It's hard to stay meditative when all eyes are on you. I often felt like "shit...4 long hours of this".

Not much has changed but I feel much more comfortable now. The only thing i adjusted was the word use to describe 4 hours and suddenly I feel much more positive about my work. Now it's "just 4 hours". There are 24 in a day. 4 isn't too long!

The fact is I don't dislike my work. I just want time and energy for lots of other things. Just a slight change in my perspective makes the difference between finishing a task energized and finishing it drained. Sure, having total freedom to cancel and adjust things as I please would be nicer but why not stay energized despite things not being perfect.

Many times our mood or opinion towards something is tied to the words we use to describe it.

This is why media and public figures can be so influential or even manipulative. When I was in the earthquake in 2011, I read news headlines from around the world. The information in each article was the same but the feeling from reading each article was totally different. An American article about the earthquake made it sound like Japan was finished. The very same information was presented in a Japanese article and after reading it, you felt like things would be ok. The only difference was a few adjectives.

Framing is everything! Frame things in a way that benefits you and life gets easier and easier. "Life is hard" muttered to yourself is like shooting yourself in the gut! Don't force yourself to believe something you don't but don't reinforce negative concepts you have! Reinforce the positive!IMG_20190725_004813_218.jpg

Sort:  

I wish I had "only" four hours uninterrupted to work in XD

You can't check emails or go to the bathroom at work?

No I want 4 hours uninterrupted work time. I work at home so I can do whatever whenever but there’s always a child to help with something, dogs to let in and out and chores to do 😵

And I get in trouble if I stay up late which is the only time I would be uninterrupted.

Posted using Partiko iOS

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Hi @whatamidoing!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.056 which ranks you at #1094 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 3 places in the last three days (old rank 1091).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 139 contributions, your post is ranked at #53.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Congratulations! I just stopped by to say that your post has been selected as a daily Featured Post of my personal curation project! You can find the daily Featured Post HERE.
I upvoted your contribution and I put it on the list because to my mind your post is what I call a quality content!
I am @miti, a manual curator that shall make available all his Steem Power to authors deserving of support. Let's make STEEM great again!
Have a nice day and keep up the good work!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62938.49
ETH 2469.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62