Let's Get Nostalgic - Pogs

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Yes these were a real thing. What are pogs you ask? They were little circular discs that you hit with a harder circular disc. And if you could turn over the softer discs that you hit with the harder disc you won them (or I guess points if you were not playing for keeps). That was it. And back in the day it was the shit. Don't believe me it was pretty big, there was even a quote about them in the Simpsons. But it faded pretty fast.

I have some theories why they didn't last long. For one you were throwing a hard thing on the ground and flipping things over. Not really much room to advance from there. It was a good way to get some anger out, but that was about it. And another problem was, with the excpetion of the harder pog, you were throwing constantly damaging your softer pogs as they got hit. That really takes down the collectability factor. Though I suppose they thought it would encourage people to buy more.

I don't remember much about the soft pogs I had, but I do remember having this kick ass purpble one that use to throw. It had this funky design on it. I wonder were it ended up...

That is about it. This is a short post, cause like I said, there really isn't much to say about pogs. Throw, flip, win. But I'm sure I'm not the only one who has had some experience with them when they were younger. Let me know in the comments.

Does it hold up today?

VERDICT:

Of course not. They are pogs. People have virtual reality now... 


*my upvotes/rep disclaimer


Sort:  

Pogs really seemed to be a pretty short term fad. I never really got into them but I was probably a little older than the target audience. I remember marbles making a big comeback when I was in 5th grade that was also pretty short lived (several years before the pog fad). I still have my marble collection though.

Yeah it really seemed like a short lived fad. I remember playing marbles too around that grade.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Feb 28. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $2.39 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 28 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64573.45
ETH 3441.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51