Anyone Else Had A Power Glove?

in #life6 years ago

When you were younger this was the coolest thing in the world. The power glove. It was advertised as a glove you wore that let you play your Nintendo games but using your arm. It had a joystick on the side and it was advertised so well that all the kids had to have it. I remember seeing it in the Wiz, a movie that was pretty much an hour and a half Nintendo commercial. I was pumped to play action games with it. It would be like you were in the game.

And then you tried it... Basically it was you flailing you arm around hoping for something to happen. The game I remember using it for was punch-out. That made the most sense, it was a boxing game. You would dodge in person and then counter like you were little mac. But no matter how well you did the game did not respond. It was hard to get by even the first guy.

Ultimately you ended up using the controller that was on the glove so it kind of defeated the point. But it did make you feel cool when you had it on :p. I guess this was the starting point that eventually lead to the Wii in a way. Which worked much much better. There were other accessories for the nes like light gun that worked well and duck hunt is still playable today. But the glove, not so much.

video-game-console-2202580_1280.jpg

Sort:  

I had a power glove..
actually a little unknown fact is in the early days of VR on home computers (circa 1992, 1993, with whopping 486 processors) you could wire and use the power glove to control a VR hand on the screen.

You could pick up and move objects. Not only was it awesome for gaming but it was the 1st home VR device for PC's.

Oh my....you did not just make me feel nostalgic. The struggle was real with the glove. The whole point wasn't even playing the game anymore....lol. The point was wearing it and feeling like a bad ass gamer...it was as if you were in the game.

Wow you make me remember my childhood, I remember that I loved a game called Circus which consisted in passing a horse between a rings of fire. I must confess that when I was a girl I thought it was a puppy hehehe, it really looks like that xD

@whatageek it's not available in my country :(
i'm sad :(

Unlucky me
I don't have

you didn't miss out, trust me.

Looks like it was ages before as I didn't hear it or ever possessed. I agree to the point:

I guess this was the starting point that eventually lead to the Wii in a way.

How could I forget it? I spent hours playing Mario Bros, my Nintendo had a gun to play Duck Hunt that was the "Angry Birds" of the time .. I also remember that I had a carpet, I do not remember what the game was called where I used it. They really were the best years of my life.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

I really don't know it. Although I did play quite some games on the good old Nintendo. Do you have a picture?

I really wonder if that controller was ever sold in the Netherlands....?

"Now you are plying with power" if only I could make the thing to work properly

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70181.59
ETH 3549.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.74