The DrEEm to StEEm

in #life7 years ago (edited)

SteemIT. STEEMIANS. All.

I know the dream is to STEEM, but the reality is that for the majority of us this is a way to become a better writer, explore our creative side, and (best of all) supplement our current income.

The truth is I have been writing a bunch of motivational posts as of late (see the follow links) because I was freelancing and it was slow season for my biggest, most lucrative client.

(https://steemit.com/life/@wetthebeak/things-i-ve-learned)
(https://steemit.com/life/@wetthebeak/the-poem-that-changed-my-life-and-saved-me-long-ago)
(https://steemit.com/life/@wetthebeak/5-reasons-you-will-never-do-anything-great)

The Next Chapter

I fell into a situation where I had the opportunity to build something from the bottom up and completely own the project, but it would no longer mean I am my own boss.

I have officially accepted that opportunity and I plan and wil completely blow this position and their expectations out of the water.

The Move

The anxiety started to creep in today. It has nothing to do with the job. It's the move. IT'S 3000 (YES, 3K) MILES AWAY. COAST TO COAST.

I have nowhere to live at the moment and leave shortly. It all happened so fast. Sometimes you just have to take a chance.

This is something I've recently just started doing. It is DEFINITELY out of the comfort zone of my past self from years back and I recommend it's something that everyone explore ASAP.

I did not get a relocation bonus so I am cash broke at the moment. I completely blew that part of the negotiation.

(Friendly reminder to myself to write a post on negotiation).

In the meantime I will continue to STEEM to help supplement my move because let me tell you...until you have days to move with no set address or plans, that's exactly when it hits you why they say moving is more stressful the public speaking and feared more than dying.

All that being said, I am absolutely thrilled to get started on my new adventure.

The "Fun" Part of This Post

I was thinking about some tough questions that I had to answer in my interview, which brought me to think back to some of the tougher questions I have heard from all walks of the job-seeking-life and I've picked out a few of my favorites from below.

Take a shot at some of the answers in the comments. Who knows, you might help a fellow STEEMIAN or yourself one day.

Thank you as always for everyone's support on this great platform!

Now...I present...

TOUGH INTERVIEW QUESTIONS

(maybe the toughest at the moment?)

“How do you explain a vending machine to someone who hasn’t seen or used one before?”

“How many fire hydrants are there in Los Angeles County?”

“If your current employer had an anniversary party for you, what five words would be written on the cake to describe you?”

“Name a brand that represents you as a person.”

“Estimate how many employees in the next building”

“How many happy birthday posts do you think Facebook gets in one day?”

“What is the first thing you’d print with a 3D printer if you had one?”

“If you had to take only one item to a deserted island, what would that be?”

“Please describe an instance where you had to make a decision without all of the necessary information.”

“You have been asked to lead a multi-million dollar, multi-year grant that will be supported across several companies and universities. How do you start?”

“Sell me on one idea, and then sell me on the opposite of that idea.”

“What is the probability of an integer from 1 to 60,000 not having the digit 6?”

“Write an equation to optimize the marketing spend between Facebook and Twitter campaigns.”

Oh..and don't forget about my...

Sell me this pen story

(https://steemit.com/story/@wetthebeak/friday-interview-series-part-1)

Don't forget to leave you answers in the comments and spread the word. Maybe tell a story or add your toughest interview story.

You might just help someone out...and have some fun with it!

Cheers!

Sort:  

I'll get the comments started by saying for sure that my favorite question from this batch is “Sell me on one idea, and then sell me on the opposite of that idea.”

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62837.82
ETH 3037.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80