I won't pretend I understand depression

in #life6 years ago

I really don't. I've been there before, thanks to postpartum depression. It's no joke, depression. But I don't understand.

Maybe I should rephrase that. I only understand the depression that happens to me. I don't think depression is the same from one person to another. When it happened to me, I was aware of my depression. I acknowledged it. Then, I choose to not have it, by doing something about it. What did I do?

I went inside myself. I asked myself why. When I answered myself, I asked myself why I answered that way. My monologues were incessant (it still is, and I love it). When I acknowledged my thoughts and feelings, it also meant that I understand that it's okay to be depressed. It also gives me hope that I can be better. I did things that changed my situation. Changing my situation was painful, but it was necessary.

For me, my depression was a mindset. I was actually grateful that I was depressed. This allows me to be kind to myself, and I continued my effort until I was in a place I was comfortable enough mentally and emotionally.

Good people go through bad things. Good people feel bad emotions. Good people don't feel good all the time.

And that's okay.

My key was to have self-acceptance.

But that's just me.

lost_in_thought_by_perzikhoofd-d72edu4.jpg
(img src)

What happens when you can't accept yourself? What happens when, instead, you look for others to accept you? How do you help yourself when you don't want to accept you? What happens when you don't love you?

I don't know.

That's why I won't pretend I know how it feels for you. It won't help you.

It won't help me.

That's why I won't pretend I understand depression.

All I know is to be kind to you. Not nice. But kind.

LIKE WHAT YOU READ? Then check out my previous post: https://steemit.com/life/@webgrrrl/the-road-to-losing-weight-is-simple-and-hard

Sort:  

I know that people like to believe that they know what depression is really about when in reality, it's a lot different than what they assume it to be. They usually try to even the situation by offering their hollow sympathy but honestly, it's useless.

Depression isn't something that you can understand without experiencing it. It's a serious disorder and affects about 350+ million people worldwide. What I hate the most is when depressed people are expected to just "get over it" as if it's something that they have any control over.

Battling depression is one of the hardest thing to do and it's about damn time that we start to see it as a serious problem and a potential threat to one's mental health conditions.

This post has been curated by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by WebGrrrl from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30