You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How did you start your love for books?

in #life6 years ago

I think my first book was Arabian nights, I can't be too sure now but I do remember the pictures and the stories and how much I wanted that book to be mine.

I never got direct encouragement from my father, though he read, but he never stopped me until I started foregoing my school work for novels.

I am still the only actively engaged reader in my family and everyone knows that I cannot ignore a novel minding its business.

I read with candles, kerosene lanterns, torch and now that I read mostly e-books, my dad worries that I would soon start wearing glasses 😂

I am into fantasy a lot since I discovered game of thrones in the University. Funny enough, I never read beyond three chapters and probably never will. I have however touched base with Sanderson, whose works I value, as well as Robert Jordan, Steven Erickson, Nnedi OKorafor, Elizabeth Haydon, Prior, etc.

I am not reading as much as I would love to but I still do read and it still is s very integral part of my life.

Sort:  

Lucky you I started wearing glasses when I was 11 years old and had coke bottle glasses lol

Well I came from a family of readers and until now everyone in our family still reads books and we were able to pass it to their kids. Hopefully mine will be if I get any haha.

Yeah I remember your list and it was great. I'm thinking of rereading the whole Wheel of time series one of these days haha.

Yeah me too but I want to check out Esselmont's own contribution to the Malazan World. I hope it's as awesome as Erickson's.

Once am done, it's Wheel of Time again. 😂

Nerds

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62904.98
ETH 3359.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46