Sorry Steemit, But I Have Some Bad News

in #life6 years ago (edited)

To all my awesome followers and supportive Steemonians, I am sorry I have not been around much the last couple of days, but I got some bad news the other day.

(Source)

I've debated about even sharing it here, but I can't really think about anything. I also like to be honest and talk about crypto, my life and things that interest me on Steemit, and right now there is one thing that is taking up my thoughts.

My family found out my father has cancer in the lungs and in a late stage. It's not all doom and gloom, we don't have all the information yet, but it isn't encouraging. He looks sick, he's tired and it breaks my heart.

Now I'm not posting this to get sympathy votes, but rather to get it off my chest. It's been hard to say to be honest. By facing my fears for the health of my father, and I can help him face his fears. I need to put all my feelings aside and only worry about his. My fears are irrelevant.

Cancer isn't what it was 30 years ago when my sister beat it as a child. Cancer isn't what it was just 15 years ago when my mother beat breast cancer. I am confident my dad has a great chance of beating this with today's medicine. 

My goal is to convey that confidence to him every day. I fully believe that beating a serious illness is part medical and part mental.  You can't win if you don't want to. I have to encourage him that he can and will win.  Without that kind of attitude I would be doing a disservice to the man who raised me and has helped and guided me every day of my life.

So to all my Steemit friends, I am sorry if I have been distant. My goal is to continue to use the platform I love in whatever time I have. Sometimes I use the blog to speak freely about my life. Unfortunately, this is part of my life now. I hope you can understand.

Thank you for reading, I really do appreciate it.

Sort:  

Talk with your father, encourage him, learn from him, spend time with him, be honest with him, reconcile with him, love him. @ironshield

All great advice that I am taking to heart. Thank you. I appreciate the kind words.

Praying for your dad and your family. Also, for the Dr's that will be treating him.

Thank you so much. You got a new follower!!! Welcome to steemit.

          Lung cancer is a tough thing to deal with. There are so many variables involved. Is it in the lymph system, what stage is it, how far spread is it in the lungs. Is it in just one area, or is it in multiple lobes.?
          November 28th, 2016 8:00 pm, that is when I quit smoking. 3 days after Thanksgiving. That was when the taxi came to take me to the airport so I could fly to another town that was 170 road miles away, to check into the hospital for lung surgery, because of cancer.
          It was supposed to be a 5-7 day thing. I still have not been able to get anyone to tell me why I had to be there for 10 days. 5-3 days longer than they told me. So when they tell your Dad a number of days, just be patient.
          My cancer was limited, to one lobe, so they just took that lobe out. I still hurt, but not much that can be done about that. I got very lucky, in the early detection of it. It was found because of some skin cancer, (on that I do not feel I got lucky), on my forehead. That was taken care of.
          If your father needs to go through a lobectomy and has any questions I will relay to him how it affected me and continues to affect me. Just let me know.

Wow, what an amazing story. Thank you for sharing and it does add hope. You're one tough cookie. Thank you so very much for the offer and I'll let you know as things progress. I really appreciate you taking the time to write that and put things into perspective for me. Thank you!
I'm glad you are doing well.

Just let him know if he has questions, it is still fresh in my mind. It all seemed to move pretty slow, the process of finding, determining, then making and taking an action plan.

I wanted to write something useful, but I found that either things already have been said or - are not useful. But I can imagine you are going through troublesome times now, and I don't think that your fears do not matter. For those around it is often not less hard (just in a different way), one just has bad feelings about feeling that way, because, you know, how hard it must be for the person in question.

Thank you so much for your kind reply. I really appreciate it. Life hits you hard sometimes, but all you can do is hit back. Thank you again.

Sorry to read about your dad. I know what it's like to lose a parent to that horrible disease. I'll pray for him, you, and your family. God bless.

Thank you so much. You got a new follower. Thanks for the support.

Much appreciated. Keep up the good work.

I'm sorry to hear about your father. I wish him, you, and your family all the best. If there is a way to treat and beat the cancer, I pray for that to happen, too. Take the time you need, and let us know about his progress.

Thank you so much. I appreciate it. I'll update as things go. Your kind words mean a lot. Thank you!

we all like to do..what we enjoy doing
Keep steeming high

Thank you very much. That's the truth.

As someone who lost both parents before i was 25 i will 100% tell you to spend every last minute you can with your parents. The last time i talked to my mom we had an argument over something stupid and she had a heart attack a couple days later. I have never forgiven myself. Chrrish the time and swallow your pride and dont argue. Dont be me.

Thank you so much for the kind reply. I am sorry for your loss, and take your advice to heart. Thank you!!!

Sorry about yout father @walkingkeys. I just recently lost my father so I know how tuff it can be. Your in my prayers during this hard time.

Thanks homie!

oooo nooooo just sad, i give you my upvote and support with a follow, i will be checking u out to drop my upvote a lot of good wishes.

Thank randy. You got a new follower and I appreciate the kind words. Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62808.61
ETH 3464.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53