Lesson from the past(Wafrica Guest Post)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life6 years ago

images (20).jpegimage

About two nights ago I was just reflecting on some annoying things I have done in the past and how much I have grown. After a long thought, I noticed something that I actually adopted some behavior from someone unconsciously.

pause
Let me rewind....
OK!OK!OK!

Here is my story.

When I was thirteen years old my brother had this pretty girlfriend. She was so amazing. like I worship the ground she walks on, she was my role model. She can never do anything wrong in my sight. I wanted to be like her when I grow up, pretty, classy and super cool but here is the catch!
She and my brother were in a toxic relationship, like so toxic. My brother is always cheating and she is always abusive and they are always getting into a fight, I think one time they became violent, she was really so insecure.

If you've been following you would notice I said she can never do anything wrong in my sight! Well, that's the catch. With all these things she was doing, I felt she was doing the right thing... (I was just thirteen)
I felt my brother must really be a horrible boyfriend and that all men are probably a cheat and I will pity her all the time. Every time she's around she will always go through my brother's phone if she finds any trouble. If she does not find anything other trouble. Now thinking about it she was really broken and insecure...the relationship lasted for 5 years of pain and struggles and somehow I adopted some of her behavior without knowing....

The thing is, in your season of growth be careful who you allow around you, be careful the information you allow, be careful who you listen to because consciously or unconsciously people we allow in our lives leave a tiny seed in our hearts that's likely to germinate.

Fast forward to 3 years later

3 years after, I had my first boyfriend. And trust me it was a disaster. I was so insecure, abusive and the likes. I'd always feel he is cheating on me. I would always go through his phone and would find nothing but still this guy loved me anyway...funny enough the relationship lasted for about two years and it was ups and downs, at the long run he cheated, I don't blame him... it was difficult to love me and at that moment that made me feel all men cheat anyway... I was just looking for who to blame except myself.

Fast forward to now

OK guys I'm not that same person I described up there, I have grown, I met good people, read good books, met a lovely guy that changed my perspective, found God and trust me I'm a work in progress but my question is who are you allowing in your life right now? What toxic relationship are you allowing? What information do you digest?
All these little things have a way of molding us, so as you go about your daily lives please protect your inner man!

dear-past-thank-you-for-all-the-lessons-dear-future-28001369.pngimage

Thanks for reading!

Temilade Adewumi.

u7rR1iU.png


The work above is Authored by @peachyladiva, edited and posted by @mcsamm for @wafrica.

IMG_20180406_101235.jpg

To appear as a guest author, kindly contact @mcsamm or @lordjames on discord and telegram.

You may want to visit WAFRICA POST about the official announcement and rules of guests writers/vloggers for your perusal.

WAFRICA CURATORS

@surfyogi
@gloglo
@gee1
@nmalove
@jeaniepearl
@chiama
@lordjames
@kofpato
@prettyjules158
@phunke
@steemgh
@mcsamm
@julietisrael.

TO SUPPORT US BY DELEGATING SP, PLEASE CLICK ON ANY OF THE LINKS BELOW

50SP 100SP 250SP 500SP 1000SP 5000SP.

DQmYJsToVbB8qix9HhgSVksB62upu3yxzvReGFnZjgvykGL.gif

 Art by @jacobite

Sort:  

Very lovely article

Posted using Partiko iOS

of course. I love just how ladies put emotions into such life events. Does it remind you of anything @chiama?

wow, the story is so touching that l had to read over it again. But I hope this has though you many lessons in love @peachyladiva. Thanks for the submission too. great work @wafrica.

@tv4souls be sure it has and am glad you found it inspiring..

Posted using Partiko Android

I find it a very inspiring story and I love the way it is written.
When I was 16 years old I had my first boyfriend. At that moment I wasn't secure of myself and I wasn't mature enough. Everybody was saying that we weren't going to last too long and, what I cared more about, was to show them that they were wrong. And that's the reason why I wasted almost a year of my life with someone who didn't love me at all and didn't care about me.
Fortunately I've learnt a lot from that toxic relationship and, nowadays, I can see things and people's intentions more clearly, and I'm proud of it.
I love your posts and I felt identified with your story. Would you mind reading my first post and give me your opinion? I hope you like it!

Posted using Partiko Android

OK that's nice, our experience is meant to make us better not bitter.

Posted using Partiko Android

Loving life after knowing the truth of it is what we call heroism. Go for the better future!

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, lovely. I agree, we have to grow out of it, to be happy in ANY way...
Be at peace with U, and love the people that have time for you, and respect you for the things you need in life. Be a magnet for wonderful people to fill your life and dont take it personal, when things dont always go ur way...

Congratulations @wafrica! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 500 posts. Your next target is to reach 550 posts.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Valentine challenge - Love is in the air!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63022.98
ETH 2580.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72