Sneak Preview: Pallet Project

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Hello, bloggers, entrepreneurs, and artists! I'm so excited about this project I'm attempting. Before this week I had never used power tools or built anything unless it was made of popsicle sticks and shoe boxes. Let me tell you: using a power saw is somehow exhilarating! What's even more exciting than using the tools is taking something apart and making it into something completely different. [Side note: isn't life like that sometimes? We're handed something, or rather things are thrown at us, and we have to make the best of it. You know, the whole lemons and lemonade thing.]

P_20180308_135710.jpg

Anyway, I'm not finished yet but I wanted to give you all a quick preview. Keep in mind, these pictures were taken on my phone so they're not the greatest. In short, a project like this entails taking apart the pallet and then reassembling the pieces in whatever shape or structure you want. You also have to do some sanding and staining or painting, depending on your preference. I prefer the natural look so I went with a stain.

P_20180304_165525.jpg

This last picture shows what the final structure will look like, minus what I'm going to put on it. Think of this as my blank canvas. I'm actually starting over, though, because I'm a perfectionist and wasn't too thrilled with how I constructed this one. Plus, a better pallet came along with nearly perfect pieces of wood. So what you see here is my first attempt from earlier in the week. Once I get the second attempt finished, I'll post some better photos and give a more in depth look at how I'm making this happen with zero experience. You can do it, too! I mean, if you want.

P_20180304_183937.jpg

Stay tuned for more on this project. Also, I'm attending a yoga festival this weekend and I'm thinking about taking the girls to a doggy yoga class! So you can bet I'll be posting about that as well!

Sort:  

yes! do it yourself ftw!

Always the best way to go! :)

Early American is one of my all time favorite stains.
Looking forward to seeing the completed project. :)

It's a great color for sure! :)

I can’t wait to see the finished product! Great work!

Thanks! I can't wait either haha I'm anxious to get it finished.

Looks awesome. I need to find some pallets when we get back to ID. I've been doing some wood working myself lately, seen here.

Wow! You're working on some pretty cool stuff! I look forward to seeing more! You might have luck finding pallets at local grocery stores or markets. They probably do their receiving during the graveyard shift so you could go late at night or early morning and ask a manager if you can have their pallets once they're empty.

Curious as to what you'll be doing with it. I'l be keeping an eye out for the next post.

Thanks for reading! :) I'm planning on it being a world map…of sorts ;)

You have been scouted by @promo-mentors. We are always on the look-out for promising authors.

I would like to invite you to our discord group where we are a community that fosters camaraderie and help authors improve their blogging skills where we have mentors that conduct post feedback sessions and other things.

If you have time, do check us out!

https://discord.gg/vDPAFqb.

When you are there send me a message if you get lost! (My Discord name is the same as the one here)




Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67974.72
ETH 3841.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74