Dog or Cat person: Personality indicator???

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Can choice of pets predict your personality? Read on to find out... ....



dog person cat person.png


image credit


There are many beliefs about personalities of Dog/Cat owners - can those be verified?
Apparently Yes - as per a survey study conducted by University of Texas at Austin.

Before we launch into the discussion, here is a picture each, of an innocent looking stray dog and a cute Kitty, that I took recently with my Nikon P900. The cat was sitting under my car in the Club yard and the dog was lazing around in the shade of a tree near our house. These may help you to decide where you stand if you are not sure....


dog-cat collage_1024x768.jpg


( Composite created by me with my original photos)


Decided?


If you are curious, check the distribution in US as per this source, to see if you are with majority or a bit unique?

dog-cat ratio.jpg



What are those personality traits that become apparent (after you gain expertise with this blog ) based on your choice of a dog/cat as a pet ?



Sr. No.Personality traitWhat it meansDog Person dogface_32x32.jpgCat Person catface_32x32.jpg
1OpenCurious, Creative, Artistictrophy_30x30.png
2AgreeableTrusting, Affectionatetrophy_30x30.png
3ExtrovertOutgoing, Energetictrophy_30x30.png
4AnxiousExcitable, Getting stressed easilytrophy_30x30.png
5ContentiousSelf disciplined, Planners, Strong sense of dutytrophy_30x30.png

Summary prepared by me based on this Information source



Which of these traits do you think you conform to? Are you a complete dog/cat person as per these traits or a combination? Perhaps we all need to think if our combination is a good combination or can it be made better by adopting some dog/cat person traits?

Do you agree with these observations? Please comment. Thanks.




upvote follow resteem.gif

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by vm2904 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

I prefare guinea pigs. Cute, intelligent and easily portable.

I love dogs and dogs only. But according to your table I'm a cat. Don't want to be a cat

Hahahaha - Peeing in the slippers - That is too precious! Thanks for this insightful comment. By the way, if you turn out to be a Cat personality and you love only Dogs, perhaps it is a case of 'Opposites attract' that is an exception to the general rule? LOL

Everything may happen:)

What do I do if I have a cat, dog and mouse ?! Maybe I have split personality ?:)

Lol. No - it only means you are too evolved to be judged by such mundane characterizations of this analysis :)

I prefer cats, and I totally identify myself with cat qualities (even though I am a bit of a dog :P)

That sounds like there is an inner you which will come out some day and then people will say - Now the cat is out of the bag!! LOL

I'm cat and dog!

By that particular metric I'm definitely a cat, @vm2904. In real life, I have two cats and a dog, and would generally identify more as a cat person than a dog person... although I like both.

I vaguely remember an old truism; not sure of its origins... and probably paraphrasing a bit, but it went something like "Dogs are the preference of bankers, lawyers and soldiers; cats are the preference of artists, poets and dreamers."

Of course, that's also rather cut and dry... but seems to me the general drift is pretty accurate...

Lol. That truism is a bit too generic but so are conclusions of all these studies. Finally, every individual is very very different and it is not easy to bracket them in a blanket manner. Thanks for your nice comment and taking time to read my blog. Thanks

I think I probably fit into this! I like both but have cats.

Thank you for taking the time to read my post and for commenting on the type of your personality. Hope you visit often. I usually try to bring my wildlife/ nature pictures with a twist of my musings about them.

Cool that is a good idea!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59010.30
ETH 2515.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45