You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Alternative Methods

in #life7 years ago

Every student - no wait - every person considering to become a (University) student should read posts like this and take old wise teachers (like Aristotle) as an example. Been there, done that. Followed everybody's advise until I was 25, depressed and in possession of a worthless college degree and a huge study debt.

All the aforementioned - and my lack of faith in the schooling system - is why I stopped being a teacher and started living life. Learning from real teachers, real people and by living and traveling.

There's one thing I disagree on with you: People aren't happier now than ever. There's way more depressions and burnouts than there were in the generation before us. The difference is, that we now have 'escape pods' and - even though this overflow of info and stimuli is burning many people out - when used wisely, the online world can be tremendously helpful and powerful. As can the offline world be, if we study it the right way.

Blogging, cryptos and Steemit have become my escape pod too. Even though I already quit my (teaching) job a year before I discovered Steemit. Blogging - combined with crypto investments - and looking at the world in another way, prioritizing the real important stuff in live, have made it possible for me to continue on this road and be my own boss.

Great post my friend!

Vincent

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 64834.92
ETH 2540.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67