The other day at Bank Station.

in #life6 years ago (edited)

This post is just a little story about a situation I experienced at Bank Station the other day. And it is supposed to be a reminder for all of us to do every day something good. :-)

Bank_Station.jpg
"Bank Station, one entrance" by Ben Brooksbank is licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0

Anyone who has ever taken the tube from Bank Station in London knows that it can be quite busy, especially at peak times. When I was on my way to a business meeting the other day, I needed to catch the Northern Line from there. It was around 11am, not as busy as at 8am or 9am - but still busy and when I was walking down the stairs to the platform I came across a young mother who was trying to carry a pushchair down the stairs. With the baby inside. Alone!

To be honest, I have no idea if there are any elevators at Bank Station, that she could have used, but just didn't or maybe there are just no elevators (which wouldn't surprise me), but the point being is that I saw this woman struggling with the pushchair (I could already see her from a distance) and the only thing I was thinking was: "Why the hell is nobody helping her?!" As I said, the station was still busy and there were a lot of men passing by and even looking at the young lady - but none of them stopped to help her carry the pushchair.

So I ended up rushing down the stairs a little quicker, said "Let me help you with this", grabbed the pushchair at one end and together we carried it down the stairs. And it was nothing that made me lose a lot of time or miss my train or whatever. For me, it was just a little thing that made someone else's situation at that particular moment a lot easier. And just the thought of that young mother falling down the stairs together with the pushchair and the baby, just because no one was offering help, makes me really angry.

Since I moved to London I experienced quite a lot of situations like this - mostly with pushchairs or suitcases involved and mostly at tube stations without elevators or escalators. And while sometimes I get my pants dirty carrying other people's stuff up and down London's staircases, I just feel really satisfied every time I offer my help to strangers and I want to encourage you to do the same! :-)

#togetherwecanmakeadifference

EL·LI
xx

Sort:  

That's so awesome @viktoria.elli! I personally believe that the little things are what make the biggest of difference. What if that lady did fall? Her life and her baby's life could have significantly been altered. But you chose to lend a hand, and that made a difference.

I'm so appreciative of those who see me as a friend or family member even when they don't even know me. I try to do the same as well.

Thanks for sharing this @viktoria.elli. These are stories that should be shared more often. The world needs to hear it!

PS: Today I created an awesome new post about the power of saying "no!". I'd love to hear your thoughts! 3 Inspiring Reasons Why You Should Say "No!" More Often

Thank you for your comment, @axios! That post sounds really interesting, I will check it out! :-)

Please kindly follow back, upvote my photo as well.
Thanks in advance 😍
https://steemit.com/steemit/@emmanueljacobz/for-the-love-of-stemmit

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63605.39
ETH 3470.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52