Why is it worth keeping a personal diary?

in #life7 years ago

                  

I started my first personal diary at the age of 13 - writing down all my experiences in a thick notebook. Many thought my occupation was stupid and a waste of time, but it never stopped me ..... And now I'm 21 years old, and I still keep my diary .... only as needed .... But in general, The account I'm probably probably the fourth diary ..... I do not remember exactly, maybe something was lost. Why did I keep a diary, and what did it give me? This I want to tell you ....

I have improved my handwriting

However ridiculous it may sound, but at first I wrote very quickly, trying to catch up with a heap of elusive thoughts, so if I wanted to, then I would not have been able to "decipher completely" my first diary. But all subsequent diaries I conducted more accurately, because practically daily practice of "fixing one's own thoughts" taught me to write quickly and beautifully.

I learned to formulate thoughts clearly

To write down a thought so that its essence was transparent and clear - it is not a simple matter. After all, you can "pour" the water on the floor of the page, get confused and forget what you want to tell at the very beginning. Realizing this, I tried to clearly fit the whole essence in a couple of lines.

I became more literate

When writing this or that word "by hand" you can not help thinking - but did I really write it? If the word "cut" my eye, I began to think about what most likely made a mistake. But typing the text on the computer without errors I can not, because at hand there is always a text editor ....

I poured out my emotions on paper, not on people around me

There are things about which we can not tell even the closest people. And sometimes you want to pour out a soul to someone ..... It's at such moments that my "treasured" notebook is the best interlocutor. After I painted all my experiences in detail, my heart felt lighter.

I refined in myself that talent that my whole life could not stand

Honestly, I never knew how to draw ...... I tried more precisely, but I did not succeed .... before the pencil was simply not subject to me, and tired of fighting with him, I threw this occupation.

But over time, I realized that when you design a diary without drawing, you can not do ..... After all, sometimes you want to write about your feelings, new things, and it's not always possible to find similar images and the Internet. Therefore, I involuntarily had to take up again a pencil and learn to draw.

I learned NOT to forget the most important thing)

Well, "again forgot the password" - believe this very often you can hear from a man who with an enviable regularity changes passwords. And it's good if you have few accounts .... And what if the sites on which you sit more than five and everywhere the passwords are different? And if you still remember about the passwords from the email..... mdaaaa .....

In this case, remembering all the passwords in your head is simply unrealistic. Therefore, in my personal diary I always made a separate page where my passwords were stored and other important information for me.

I was able to look at myself from the side

How I laughed when I reread my first diary! What seemed to me a problem of universal scale and was the cause of tears, now causes a smile and an understanding of what I should not have experienced so much. And this is science for the future ....

Keeping a personal diary helped me to experience all my defeats easier, helped me learn to suppress all negative and strong emotions. Keeping a personal diary helped me see myself as I am, helped me analyze all my feelings at certain times instead of mixing all the emotions into a heap. Thanks to my diaries, I was able to get rid of my thoughts constantly bothering my head.

Simply put, I was able to understand myself and get acquainted with myself, I determined my life priorities for myself and just became stronger ......

P.s. If you liked my publication, then you can subscribe to me and vote for this post) Sincerely Viktoria Romanova.

Sort:  

good that you know english and russian at the same time ☺ я тоже знаю оба языка )

thank you for sharing your story , i think i will have my first personal diary soon

Hmmmm. Have you just started keeping a diary? Or have you been leading for a long time?

By reading this it's clear that you wrote a lot
I always read you with pleasure

I'm embarrassed) This post I wrote 2 days)

"Time is relative"

I have something to write about, but there is very little free time to write

I'll wait your words :)

Thank you, I'm very pleased to hear such words)

I tried to keep a diary on several occasions as a teenager, but lacked the motivation to keep at it for more than a few weeks. Impressed that you've maintained yours for so long!

I almost did not believe anyone ..... I had no one to talk about my problems ... so I led)

Thank you for that Viktoria! Excellent points and reminder of why I was keeping my diary - maybe I should start again (even though much older than you now ;) ) Only thing: I wouldn't keep my passwords written -at least not in a diary that anyone can find and figure this out. We live in the digital Era so it doesn't sound that safe (you know, identity theft, access to cryptocurrency wallets, bank accounts etc)

That's it we live in the modern world, so many people can hack a computer. But not one attacker will get to your house to steal your diary. I think the diary is more reliable storage) I subscribed to you, in my free time I will read you, I hope for reciprocity) Where where and here I have no friends (

I guess you have a point, but still I wouldn't do it. I mean, what if you lose it or someone you know access it? (It doesn't always have to be a hacker or a thief...) But besides that, I love diaries and I think they really help psychologically - it's somehow like a self-therapy :) I should start again! I see you're very new indeed so I followed you back because I truly believe in minnows support on steemit, it is very important! :)

Recording on paper helps to fully understand your fears and problems. And their awareness is the first step towards liberation from their negative influence. It's like your personal psychotherapist)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61258.08
ETH 2873.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56