You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Scared to follow your dreams? - Welcome to the club!

in #life6 years ago

Following your dreams is the best thing you can do with your life. When you think about it, what have you got to lose?
Yes, you might not succeed right away, but another name for failure is learning, so the next time you try you'll be better off. The secret is to keep trying.
Yes, you might not be as well-off if you follow your dreams. For many people, this means doing something creative, which often doesn't pay well (at first!), but surely you can handle a slightly lower quality of life if you're doing something you love with your time? Move into a smaller place. Move back home. Get a flatmate. Whatever it takes! You can make it work if you're determined.
I once read an article where people on their deathbeds talked about their biggest regrets in life. Number one was working too hard on a job they didn't believe in and not taking the time to pursue the things they loved.

We only get to live once. Make it count!

Sort:  

I totally agree with you, and regret is the worst thing that'll ever happen to someone. I have felt a lot of regret in my life regarding my childhood. I wish I went out to play more with the other kids, I wish I wasn't so hard on myself growing up regarding my career. Countless hours spent under my study lamp already from the age 13. Something that wasn't really necessary. I forgot to enjoy my childhood. I do not want to have the same regret in my old age. Nobody should have to go through this and so it is better that you die trying than live having given up!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97