You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Living alone- Challenges and Perks

in #life6 years ago

I kind of had the opposite experience. I lived alone for a while when I was in Sweden. At first I loved it. I'm pretty happy being on my own and I was in ecstasy over finally having my own space (piles of dirty dishes were a regular feature). My boyfriend at the time would come over pretty regularly so in the beginning I didn't feel totally isolated. However, as time went on, I realised that my natural tendency towards being a hermit was coming out more and more.

When I left Sweden, I moved into a flat in Graz with a lovely German girl, and although I expected it to be difficlt at first to have to share space and have someone else around all the time, actually it's been a hugely positive experience.

Maybe it's good for us as people to do the thing that opposes our natural tendencies. I'm naturally happy on my own and it's more of a challenge to live with someone, but I feel that it has a positive effect on me. And maybe the reverse is true for you. It's well-known that it's good to push yourself outside your comfort zone (within limits!). Good for you being able to calm yourself and get in control of the situation and focus on the positives - as you have done in your list. I bet you'll get far more out of the experience as a result.

Sort:  

I totally agree with you. I too think that it’s all about pushing your boundaries, experiencing things that are out of our comfort zones. It kind of makes you whole. Ypu explore everything and then you learn what works for you and what doesn’t. My mother says “A person should needs to learn to be content with a stone bed just as much as he or she would be with a bed made of flowers.” Like you need to learn to survive all kinds of situations.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69460.30
ETH 3372.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74