A place to hunt for hidden treasures

in #life7 years ago (edited)

 


If you’re a lover of antiques, you’ll either love this place or it might be too spunky for your taste. I personally love the chaos and I love how they decorate the shop. 


My friend Ashley had recommended this place to me when she learned about my love for vintage decor. I can still recall the first time we walked into the shop together. It was like a funhouse! So much to look at and a lot of unique items. 


Please wait for the gifs to load...


They’ve got 4 large rooms on the ground level floor. One room with all their jewelry and some accessories. I never purchase anything from this area but I’m always rummaging through it. I wear little to no jewelry but it’s still fun to look at. 

The basement also has a lot of fun trinkets. There is an area for vintage figurines and children’s toys. They’ve also collected a wide range of vintage clothing for women. Today I was exploring and wished I wore more hats because they looked so beautiful. I almost purchased some gloves that I didn’t need. 

There are several items that I don’t need but I want badly. Before committing to an item I’ll think about it’s versatility. Will I use this in my daily life, can I use this for photos, and will guests enjoy seeing this when they visit our home?

I was tempted to purchase some house plants today. I’m going to wait until @kommienezuspadt returns home. He’s better at keeping the plants alive. I’ve been thinking about getting a small cactus and maybe an aloe plant? Let me know if you have any suggestions for me!

There are 15 dealers that help to fill up every nook and cranny in this place. Each item will have a dealers name and the price of the item. I’m always purchasing items from a woman named Mary. Her taste matches mine and her merchandise is always reasonably priced. You can find pretty much anything and if you don’t find that specific item, you’ll leave with something unexpected.

I almost always get excited when I’m here because the staff will invest the time to merchandise the store to keep it looking fresh. I did notice that they have a new policy to check-in backpacks at the front desk. Which means that they’ve attracted a lot of theft to go along with their growing business. It’s unfortunate but I’m happy to see that it hasn’t changed the staff. They’re extremely friendly and always helpful.

I left this evening with two large frames (which were half my height) and a box of goodies. The shop keepers laughed at me when I insisted that I could carry all of my items without any help. It was a kind gesture but it’s cold out and I didn’t want to inconvenience anyone. I’ve also got a slight complex when it comes to completing tasks independently.


Thanks for stopping by! I’ll have to photograph each of the items to share soon. 

Do you collect vintage goods? 🦊

Sort:  

How did I miss this post? This is heaven for me!!!!

Hahha, it’s alright. I’ve been really bad about seeing posts in my feed as well!

Oh I love places like this! When I lived in Brighton there was an area full of weird little shops like this all housed in winding cobbled alleys called 'Tge Lanes' which I used to love visiting 🙂

As far as plants go, get an air plant. They're literally impossible to kill (trust me, I also have black fingers)

If you ever go back to visit Brighton then I’d love to see images of that area!

‘black fingers’

That’s funny. I got an air plant as a party favor once and it died....I forgot to water it. 😅

very nice place . thanks for post

will loved to visit there someday

It’s a fun place.

Un beau bazar plein d'antiquitées et choses intérréssantes
J'aime les endroits comme ca, merci !!

Beautiful place indeed. I hope to find more places just like this. :)

Wow, I would be in there for HOURS!!! I love looking at all that cool antique stuff. I usually don't even buy anything but I just love looking at it, it's like seeing history for me :)

You see a lot of old photographs and notebooks filled with beautiful handwriting. It’s fascinating!

what an incredible place, I love the antiquity, personally I like more a vitage decoration of the other ... more original and beautiful.

I agree with you. The pieces that I gathered have a sort of charm to them. I can’t wait to unwrap them and start rearranging my things.

How about a terrarium (a miniature one will be even better) instead of just a house plant? It may be tricky to make one, but if done correctly you won't have to worry about them very much at all!

I’ve been thinking about getting/making a terrarium but I could break it by accident. @guthrie recently knocked over a dead plant with a bunch of pebbles in it so I worry that it could meet the same fate. I have to install some shelves.

Then I suggest a microterrarium instead :) Something small that you can actually wear (in a necklace or earring) or put on your desk for inspiration instead of the garden or kitchen table.

This place looks amazing! I can't wait to see what treasures you found

I’ll be sharing them in another blog post soon!

This here seems like a mini market, and really it's not so spooky as you think, it's absolutely green everywhere, where is this?

It’s a local antique store here in Minneapolis. :)

Okay, it looks natural here really

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60794.44
ETH 2623.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62