Obligatory military service part two

in #life6 years ago

Introduction


Yesterday I started a serie about my time in the Army during my Obligatory military service. At the end of thispost you can find a link to the other part(s). My idea to write about this came from the news that on Morocco they are planning to re-introduce the obligatory service again. It reminded me at myself servicing the army when it was still obligated.

where would we be stationed?



Source
As I told in the previous part we still didn't knew (after driving for hours in a truck and being back at the begin point of our application) where we would be stationed. So finally a Sergeant came to tell us (in the canteen) that we would stay in Ossendrecht. He called our names one for one and when we were named we had to walk towards him.

First they apologized for the inconvenience they caused and promised things would get better :).
Finally we got ourselves a dormitory to stay, I remember it was a hall with about 12 beds. Next to each bed there was a metal closet to put your personal stuff. At the end of the room there was a table and some chairs. There was no TV, you had to rent one. We agreed by doing this the next day.


Source (Quite like this picture, but without the Bunkbed)

After we settled the Sergeant came back to us and divided us into groups, he told to me (and 7 other guys) that we were added to the "Motor ordonnans" , this was the Motor division of the Army. I was thrilled because I didn't had my Motor-drivers license at that time, and at that time it was quite common to get your driverslicense for car in the Army. So I thought I would receive my motor license also :)...

The regime of packing your closet was tight, it had to be neat and presentable at all times. Something without priority for young guys at that time, but we did pack the closet (at first) like they asked us to because we were fresh and didn't want have any problems from the start :)

The next day we had to report (me and the 7 other guys) at the testcentre to get our motor-equipment. A motorsuit, helmet, gloves and boots. So things were starting to get real :) After that we got our first introduction class.
when you join the army for obligatory service you get a one month eduction first before you get stationed on the definitive ocation

Part of the eduction was driving the motor, military basics (etiquette etc.), first aid and of course shooting at the shooting range. (I come back to that part later).


Source The type of motor used by the army at that time

When we came to the first motor-lesson out instructor asked us who already had his civilian license for motor. It turned out to be that I was the only one that didn't just like it turned out to be that it was necessary to even be part of the Motor ordonnans. So he felt very sorry for me, but I had to leave that battalion because I didn't met the requirements.
I remember being very pissed about that because I really thought it was a great part of the army ánd again things weren't arranged properly.

The same day I was added to the "Laro Battalion" (Laro was synonymous for Land Rover, the 4x4 jeeps. I thought it was cool but I rather had driven a Moto Guzzi bike :). I remember having a great group of fellow-soldiers, all from different parts of the Netherlands and all with different back-grounds. That made some good talking at nights ;)..


Source

It was tradition that new recruits were called names like "Bolle" and "fresh meat", in my opinion it has to do with the macho culture. Bolle was a name referring to the barret, because it was new (when you just joined) the barret was bulging which is called "Bol" in Dutch. So they called us "Bolle"... It was quiet embarrassing but it was something you had to go trough being a newbie :)

You were supposed to stay during the week at the barracks, only in the weekend you could go home. Because I lived quite far from the barracks I alwasy left home again at sunday evening. I remember that I really hated that cause I came home late at night on friday and had to leave again early on the sunday. So it felt I was living in the army...


Source

Food


Every morning you had to walk to a giant mess hall for breakfast. A big industrial kitchen with army personel which put out a breakfast buffet. You had to arrange your own cutlery from your army package. Overall the food was good, dinner was varied and every week one day there was chinese or indian food.

They also served soup every day, every day a different one except on Friday. Friday's you get MaDiWoDo soup, and MaDiWoDo stands voor Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday & Thursday (the first two letters from the days in Dutch). So at Friday the throwed all the leftovers from the other day's together and mixed it. I thought it was briljant lol.......

So far part two in this serie, recalling all the memories I discover more and more from that time.... Enjoying the memories...

See also the other parts in this (true) story


Part one of this story

Thanks for reading,

Have a great day


Alt text
Proud member of SMG


I fully support @s3rg3 and @exyle, who are witness with their developer group @blockbrothers for the Steem blockchain. If you want to support them, they would appreciate your vote here.


They are the creators of Steemify, THE notification app for your Steemit account for IOS.


steem-banner.jpg

Sort:  

Wow, that sounds like quite the experience. It does sound like it was a little more relaxed than boot camp is for most soldiers in the US. I don't think I could take the mandatory service if it was like that. Bummer that you weren't able to be in the moto group. I look forward to reading the rest.

It's cool you drove landrovers! Seems like you have some fairly good memories of this time. I love the name of that soup, though it sounds terrible!

It sounds terrible, but the soup was rather Yummy :) (not every week btw)
I have indeed some great memories of the time... To be continued :)

🤖 Congratulations! You've been featured in our new @SMG co-curators digest. Thanks for being one of our cherished authors. See how much we love and appreciate you here: https://steemit.com/walkwithme/@smg/smg-digest-or-poetry-book-review-nm-newsletter-military-service-and-irma-1-year-later

Your post has been featured on our Daily Report for September 6, 2018.
Next time maybe you'll get luckier and besides being featured on our daily report also win our 100% free upvote.
Until then, Steem on and continue to provide quality original content!

(How to gain our 100% upvote otherwise, you may check on our blog.)

Hello @verhp11, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 59198.54
ETH 3287.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43