Two Eyes, Two Views

in #life7 years ago

7DC97912-D01E-480F-B128-33756A1B83C3.jpeg

I've been wearing this eye patch for months, now. I told my friends and family that I'd had an eye infection and the patch was needed to help with the recovery, but they'll have to work out soon enough that this was a lie. I can't wear it forever.

Luckily, I live alone so it hasn't been too hard to hide most of the time. Eventually, though, I'll have to take it off.

The first time I discovered this "gift" (after all, that's how people would probably describe it) I was physically sick. I can't even tell you why it started, only when.

It happened while I stood in the queue at my local supermarket. A little old lady was being served and chatted happily to the cashier. Suddenly, I had an itch in my right eye and, as I closed it and rubbed it, I saw through my left eye a...vision...of that same sweet lady at home mercilessly beating her disabled husband. Vision may not be the right word, I felt her husband's pain both physical and mental. Not just the pain of that beating, the pain of everything she had inflicted on him for what was almost certainly many years.

I threw up on the spot and started to feel faint. The next thing I remember I was lying on the floor surrounded by concerned looking people. Apparently I had gone down pretty hard and banged the side of my face. The manager of the supermarket was holding a bag of frozen peas over my now swollen left eye. The old lady from the queue had given me a tissue to wipe the vomit from my face. Looking at her now, I felt a radiating love from within. I felt the joy of her grandchildren as she baked for them, and the reassurance that her pet terrier (whose name I somehow knew was Bella) felt every time this lady returned home.

Looking around, I was surrounded by similar feelings from all those who had stopped to help. It was honestly overwhelming. I had no idea what was happening, I assumed I was having some sort of episode. Surely that would also explain the horrific thing I had seen before blacking out.

I rose to my feet and thanked everybody for being so concerned. I did my best to try to convince them I was fine. I certainly didn't want to go to the hospital, not after what happened last time.

I removed the bag of peas from my face and tried to open my left eye. Though I was only able to open it a tiny bit and felt severe pain. Not in my eye, in my...everything.

I saw, and felt, once again the pain that this lady's husband lived and, looking around, I felt so much more. People who had been cheated on, people who had been lied to and belittled, and a young girl, maybe 19 years old called Lucy, who had taken her own life after being raped by the well-dressed man stood just my right.

I know I got out of there as quickly as I can but, I'll be honest, the next few days are a bit of a blur. All I can say for sure is that it didn't go away, and still hasn't.

The swelling on my eye was bad enough that I wasn't able to open it for a while without serious effort. This gave me time to buy a gauze patch and some medical tape without needing to see anything that I didn't want to. By the time it healed, I had been wearing the patch non-stop...but, like I said, I'll have to take it off eventually.

I'm terrified of what I'll see next. I've been avoiding my friends and family as much as I can because I don't want to know what they're hiding. How do I live knowing, feeling, truly understanding the pain that they've inflicted on others?

The thing that scares me the most, though, is that eventually I'll have to look at myself.

Sort:  

Congratulations @vedagr! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment
You published your First Post
You got a First Vote
You got a First Reply
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @vedagr! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Meet the Steemians Contest is over - Results are coming soon ...

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @vedagr! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 69380.97
ETH 3764.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86