Find Myself Project

in #life8 years ago

Why Is finding yourself so damn hard?

All I want to know is what I want to do with my life. I just need to know what type of career I should be pursuing. I want to know if I’m on the right track. I don’t know if I want to be an artist, writer, have a career in IT. I don’t want to me stuck somewhere for the rest of my life and wishing I chose a different path. I thought I would be happy in IT but this new job is testing that. I’m not outgoing or aggressive like my parents and employers tell me to be. I definitely don’t want to pretend to be something I’m not for the rest of my life.I can’t remember the last time I was actually happy.

I mean, I’m happy whenever I’m with my boyfriend of course. And I was happy before I started middle school, before people started asking me what I wanted to be when I grew up. Then telling me I can be anything I want if I try hard enough and get good grades in school. After that happiness just kinda avoided me… I only found happened when I was trying to escape. Playing video games, listening to music, watching anime, reading, making long distance friends etc. Because I didn’t get good grades and my self-worth dropped because I wasn’t smart enough.

I’m sitting here googling “questions to ask yourself to get to know yourself better”. And all I can answer to most of these questions is “I don’t know.” I don’t know who I am. I don’t know my skills other than art, writing and computer skills. I’m not even confident with my art and writing skills. I know I would be more confident in IT but I’m not sure if I even want this career. I don’t know how I’m going to survive in this society. I’m already in debt from student loans. My credit is fucked because of my aunt. I suck at selling my art. I don’t even know what my art style or writer’s voice is. I don’t know how I feel most of the time.This is something I have to work on like right now. I have to answer these questions. I have to find myself. It will take time. I will have to be patient with myself. 

Sort:  

Congratulations @varahfae! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @varahfae! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56855.76
ETH 2540.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.24