A weekend away from Steemit

in #life7 years ago

As some of you might have noticed, I haven't posted any new posts in the last few days, except for a few comments to some authors I follow. However, there's no need to fear that I'm dead or have left Steemit behind, but I had to take a few days off to clear my head, relax and enjoy the winter.

Writing at least one posts about ecology every day might not seem like a lot of work, but it really is. It takes a long time to read papers about new discoveries, figure out which of these are worth posting about, writing the post and finding suitable pictures with permissions that allows me to post them. I often end up spending several hours with planning and writing posts, and I also spend pretty much just as long with reading content and writing comments. I feel like I might have an addiction to Steemit!

Anyway, Steemit has been taking up a lot of my spare time in the last months, so I had to disconnect for the weekend in order to relax and not worry about what I should be writing about. It feels really great to not constantly check my feed and comments every few minutes, and instead focus on enjoying the nice winter we have in Norway these days. It's like a storybook winter right now, and that won't last for long, so I figured I had to take advantage of the situation while I had the chance.

I'm excited to begin a new week, and there have been some cool discoveries in the last week that I'm excited to share with you guys, so make sure to check out my blog every once in a while.


Few things are better than a nice cup of coffee and browsing Steemit!

Steem is not really that stable at the moment

Steem has been falling a bit in value in the last week or so, but I personally don't fear this at all. I am confident that Steem is still grossly undervalued, and it will grow a lot in 2018. I hope none of you have panicsold your tokens, because I think it will for sure rise way above the previous record at $8.

The reason why I am addressing this is because it might have looked like I abandoned the platform just when the price was at its lowest, but that's not what happened at all. I'm glad to be back after a weekend away, and looking forward to lots of good discussions in the comment section again!

And while the price is unstable, make sure to pick up some Steem and power them up during the dips! I'm confident that you won't regret doing this!

Follow my other account for low-quality posts

I have another account that I tend to post on every once in a while called @valth.blog. I like to think of that account like my Instagram account, where I mostly just post pictures of stuff that happens in my life. I know some of you guys also follow that account, so I just wanted to let everyone know to not expect quality posts there, but rather pictures with a sentence or two attached to them. Follow it if you like getting pictures of dogs and random stuff in your feed, and don't follow if you rather not.

Anyway, thanks for reading! I hope everyone has had a great weekend and are ready for a new week.

Sort:  

So true! Writing and composing quality articles is very time-consuming when you factor in everything it entails. Acquiring the knowledge and material as a basis for the article, using proper formulation, proofreading, formatting, process images.

As for all the redness I'm not particularly concerned either. If we are to see a collapse, I'm sure it won't take long for it to bounce back up anyways, like it always has.

Yeah, it's a very long process at times, especially when I need to become familiar with the basis for the study as well. Such as when I'm writing about fossils and things that I have no real education about and need to research even some of the basics.

A collapse would perhaps not be so good for Steemit in itself, but certain a good opportunity to buy some very cheap coins. I get why some people are skeptical to invest in crypto, but I'm confident that the blockchain technology is here to stay!

And thanks for stopping by and leaving a valuable comment, @partywalrus :D

Like a wise man once said; "Don't get so busy making a living that you actually forget how to live." Give some time for yourself and distance yourself from the virtual world more often. I hope you take these breaks quite often and enjoy life. Spend time with your family and your loved ones, travel, explore and do things that fascinate you. There is a life beyond Steemit, "The Real Life."

That's a great quote, @akshayb!

Yeah, it is really important to take a break from the internet every once in a while. I'm definitely going to be spending a lot more time outside now when spring comes around, but hopefully I will be better to plan ahead and make some posts that can be posted on days when I'm busy with real life ;)

Thanks for the comment!

Gratitude, friend. :) @valth
The virtual world is indeed addictive but the true beauty lies in the Real world. That is a great strategy, planning things ahead of time will give you ample time for yourself. What most people lack is managing their time, if you can balance your work and leisure, you have already won half the battle. Good luck to you, hope you find peace.

That's a great way to look at it ;) Thanks!

No, no, we don't think that you're dead and become inactive. Obviously everyone has own routine which can't be same every time. But its true that we were waiting for your posts. Cause you posted informative stuff.

Yeah, steem is down a lil bit but it will grow up soon. We should work hard to make the #steemit platform more powerful.

We had a great weekend. Hope your weekend too. :) Thanks for sharing your other blog with us. :)

Hehe, I'm glad to hear that you didn't think I was dead :P

Yeah, if we all work hard to improve the platform, either by telling friends of creating great content, then it will grow beyond our wildest dreams!

Yeah, I had a great weekend :) I was able to see The Death of a Salesman premiere on the Norwegian national theater, which was a very good experience. And don't expect too much of that other blog; it's just like an Instagram type of blog.

Haha! :P

You're hitting to the point. I also have similar thoughts like you. I'm also taking a part in it to grow this network by inviting my colleagues and fellows.

Good to know that you have great weekend just like us. I'm really don't expect much from that blog but this one. ;)

I noticed this post and seen the peace seaker person who spamming on your previous one post, you and Sir Brimax insult him realized him that he do spamming. I also noticed him, he is spamming on every second post on the steemit and earning from it. But good to know you value those who valued your content. It's really good that you do good to those who really good to you as well. I'm appreciating this kind of act by heart. :)

It's great that you are going to invite your friends and colleagues! If everyone does this Steemit will grow big very fast ;)

Yeah, there has been a lot of spam on Steemit lately, so it's important to call it out when you see it.

Yeah, you're right! :)

Welcome back @valth Yes we felt your absence as you are noticeable personality. I visited your profile couple of time and from your comments got an idea that you are busy in some thing. It's necessary to refresh your mind. I understand that writing perspicuous post takes a lot of time and energy so for this purpose break is must. enjoy winter season and keep sharing @valth:)

Yeah, it's very important to take small breaks every once in a while to refresh the mind :) Thanks for the comment, @kamchore! It's very warming to hear that I have been missed.

Godt å høre at du ikke er død :)
Jeg er enig med deg i at det er lurt å ta en liten "time-out" fra Steemit av og til. Merker det selv, prøver å poste 1 for dagen + kommentere ting som interesserer meg. Men det blir fort til at jeg hele tiden er inne og sjekker. Så det er ikke så dumt å dra ut kontakten en helg, for å ta steem-fri :)

Jeg er relativt ny på steemit, men merker at det er sterkt avhengighetsdannende :p

Ja, det blir litt sånn for meg også @svein. Først bruker jeg en del tid på selve posten, og deretter blir jeg gående og sjekke svar og andre poster dagen lang, så det går en del tid til sammen.

Det er nok lurt med noen avkoblingsdager med jevne mellomrom ja :)

Hahaha. You make your point as eloquently as ever my friend.
Good to know that your absence was due to some more pleasant reasons. I was also absent for 7 days but due to some personal medical reasons.
Welcome back @valth.

Oh, I'm sorry to hear about your medical issues, @xabi. I hope you are feeling better now!

And thanks for the welcome ;)

May yOu've this weekend fantastic for you and you enjoy every moment of your life. YOu're right rest is most important for our relaxcation.
I followed your second account :)

You are totally right! I think Steem is addiction. My wife complains about it :) Finally I persuaded her and she also started to Steem. As you said, sometimes we should leave the internet and come back to real life.

Hehe, I'm glad to hear that I am not the only one with an addiction to Steemit! ;)

Maybe you will both spend all your time on Steemit from now on.

I'm sure that there are a lot of people addicted to Steemit like we, don't feel bad dude:)

Have a nice day.

Yeah, we are likely far from being alone with this addiction. You too, @cemke! :)

Thanks for sharing and being very open to us in this post. I had a great weekend, pass by my blog and check out what i was doing specifically. You've just spiced this moment of mine with a coffee thought. I like coffee too.

Hehe, coffee is great! I drink a bit too much of it to be honest, and at times I get cranky when I don't get my morning coffee..

I'm glad to hear that you have had a good weekend, @yohan2on! :)

Yes i did! Thank you @Valth

Writing at least one posts about ecology every day might not seem like a lot of work

Whoever thinks that has never written a post about ecology (or any other thing that requires intensive research) XD

Hope you enjoyed your destress and are feeling all recharged and stuff now :)

goatsig

Hehe, that's true. Most people have not really written these types of post, so I can understand why some think that it might be fast and easy. Anyway, thank you! I'm feeling much more recharged :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64071.08
ETH 2763.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66