Empathy vs Sympathy.

in #life7 years ago

source


Sympathy and empathy are words that I appreciate knowing the distinctions between. While I sympathize with people at times, I prefer empathizing. I feel like empathy means you are putting yourself in the other person's shoes, while sympathy is something you feel from a distance.


source 


Sympathy is defined on en.oxforddictionaries.com:

feelings of pity and sorrow for someone else's misfortune; understanding between people; common feeling.


Empathy is defined on en.oxforddictionaries.com:

the ability to understand and share the feelings of another.


Sympathy is when we feel bad for another person, understanding that they are going through something difficult. Empathy is when we feel bad with another person, understanding that they are going through something difficult because we have also gone through something similar, or we are putting ourselves in their shoes. 


From http://www.diffen.com:

Empathy is the ability to experience the feelings of another person. It goes beyond sympathy, which is caring and understanding for the suffering of others. Both words are used similarly and often interchangeably (incorrectly so) but differ subtly in their emotional meaning. 
Empathy:
Definition:  Understanding what others are feeling because you have experienced it yourself or can put yourself in their shoes. 
Example:  "I know it's not easy to lose weight because I have faced the same problems myself." 


Sympathy:
Definition:  Acknowledging another person's emotional hardships and providing comfort and assurance. 
Example:  "Trying to lose weight can often feel like an uphill battle." 


source


Sympathy is a good thing to feel; it can be compassionate and understanding. But empathy is when you allow yourself to feel what the other is feeling, doing whatever they need to express that you understand. 


source


I like to show empathy whenever possible, remembering that sympathy is often full of pity, and I don't like to pity others!


What do you think about sympathy and empathy?


Blessings!



Sort:  

Felt you, as you wrote up this post. I have shown #Empathy (or empathized) with people both in my job (as a #Healthcare worker), as well as personally.

So I know what you're saying here. Neat post. I found on a sunday, and so I had time to read it through.

It's interesting to note that people pick up on it, if You show EMPATHY -- even developmentally disabled folks do!

Yes, empathy is contagious! 😊

It sure can be. I, at one time, had a supervisor who was kinda mean -- yet when I showed her some Empathy, by listening to her troubles .. her facial expression changed & was suddenly softer - as she was SO grateful someone cared enough to listen to her.

Kindness despite someone else's bad mood is amazing. 😊

Nice article! I think it is important to know the difference in the two emotions.

Thanks, me too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59989.12
ETH 2380.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49