A dose of nostalgia through children's books.

in #life7 years ago

I have always had a passion for books and reading. 


It started when I was little. My mom would read @gringalicious and me books that we enjoyed over and over again. It is something that I will always remember and I have been adoring reading books to my toddler! He enjoys them as much as I do!


source


One of my favorite children's books is "Corduroy" by Don Freeman. It is such a classic! My mom used to put a lot of emphasis on the parts where he says, "I didn't know I'd lost a button!" And "I know I've always wanted a friend!"


source


I was also super fond of the "If You Give. . ." books by Laura Joffe Numeroff. The two we had were, "If You Give a Mouse a Cookie," and "If You Give a Pig a Pancake." Recently, I found them at a used book store and I was giddy like a little kid! And then I found a few others like, "If You Give a Moose a Muffin," and "If You Give a Cat a Cupcake." My little dude enjoys them as much as I do!


source


I also really enjoyed "The Little Golden Books." One that I remember the most is, "The Fox and the Hound." I was so excited because my mother-in-law found it for me while we were at a used book store last night. I also found a few others I used to have. It made me feel warm and fuzzy!


source


And I can't forget to mention the "I Spy" books by Walter Wick and Jean Marzollo! We would look at these books for hours! So much fun!


I had a ton of other books, of course, but these are some that are especially nostalgic.


What were your favorite books as a kid?



Blessings!


Sort:  

If you give a mouse a cookie.....my firstborn favourite :))

My son enjoys it, too! 😄

I've read Aesop's fables when I was a kid? It rally is an enjoyable book.

I enjoy Aesop's Fables!

Oh my goodness I remember ALL of these, the I SPY books kept me occupied for HOURS, along with some pretty Where's Waldo books I had, maybe why I'm so detail oriented as an adult...

Ever look into the Manadla effect with regards to the Bernstein bears?? Crazy stuff. Definately worth a trip down the rabit hole

Haha, Waldo!
Omgosh, it isn't "Berenstein?"

Corduroy was a book my mom read to me as a child as well! And I read my kids the stories if you give a moose and a muffin and the other stories in the series! Thanks for the post!

My personal favorite as a kid was "caps for sale!"

I never heard of, "caps for sale." What is it about?

Caps for sale was one of my faves too- actually my parents saved my copy and I recently read it to my kiddos!

Kids books are so much fun. 😊

Omg.....this post practically has me in tears from how much nostalgia you just gave me, Sis! Thanks @uglysweater!😌😢😆🐻🍪🐶

I am so glad you share these memories with me! 😄💗

I remember all of those! thank you for sharing :)

I am so glad we have a mutual childhood book memory. 😊

I'm a children's librarian now and it's so much fun reliving children's lit. Great list!

Thanks! What a fun job!

I remember I used to read Love You Forever. I sort of forgot about it for years, but I listened to someone read it on YouTube the other day and I cried...

612wpFrT0WL._SY484_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

Awww, this was one my husband had as a kid. What a tear-jerking kid's book!

I adored the Little House on the Prairie books! My Grandpa and I learned English with them after immigrating, and I was considered a freak in Kindergarten because I did not have to be taught to read, lol

I am also quite partial for Goodnight Moon :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59479.71
ETH 3174.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44