On asking and not assuming

in #life6 years ago

I am someone who does not assume nor make hasty conclusions about someone's sudden behaviour.

A friend asked for my advice on an issue.

Last Sunday, she spoke at length with her friend, and on Monday she urgently needed his help on somethings. So, she sent him a text instead of calling because he told her, he would be going on an official assignment. Two days after, she didn't get a response. She got angry and began to think about so many things as to why her message was ignored. Thereafter, she made a decision never to call him excepts he chooses to call.

So she told me about it and I encouraged her to call and find out what could have happened instead of having such rash conclusion.

image.png
Source

She listened and did.

It was actually the time she called that the friend got hold of his phone. Meanwhile, his phone has been out of network coverage for the time being.

In short, she came back to appreciate the little advice I gave her.

This is just a pointer to the fact that we should not make assumptions nor conclusions about people in a haste.

What relationship have you lost because you assumed the person deliberately ignored you?

Sort:  

Aww... @turpsy this post is full of riches. Very on point. Sometimes we humans we just want things to happen immediately, as e dey hot, exactly how we want them. But this post thought me a lot of lessons. Thank you for sharing.

Hahaha. As e de hot. Na so. Hot and fresh. I am happy you got good lessons from here. Thanks.

Ok I'm lost in the Nigerian slang, what does it mean"as e dey hot"?

Hahaha, well, it means "Right now" "Instantaneously" . Follow @naijapidgin, you will know more.

Mam @turpsy,

Your advice was really great. Your thinking is so beautiful. Go on mam. I wish your better luck.

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!

True, like I've really judged people wrongly just from assumptions

We should give people benefit of doubt.

Just like the saying never judge a book by its cover we all got some drama going on, On our various life's

Exactly and well said.

None 😁😁... And this is cos I always say things as they are. If I am vex about a person's behavior, I would definitely tell that person and then we would trash tinz out.

This is a good way to go about things. In that sense you will keep better and stronger bond.

@turpsy You have earned a random upvote from @botreporter because this post did not use any bidbots.

I need to work on not rushing to conclusion as well. Good advice and you are a good friend.

Thank you my friend. I am happy this gives a good take home point.

Great advice. It is always good to take time away from the situation and tackle it few days later with fresher eyes and a softer heart

Exactly!! Relaxing ones mind and engaging in a conscious distraction helps.

In as much as I like the advice, I refuse to believe the friend just got hold of his phone since 2days, where was the phone and why was he just getting hold of it at the moment she call?
All the same, she shouldn't just ignore. It was a text message, there are chances he may not have received it. If I were in her shoes, I will call to confirm he got the text before I decided to stay angry or not.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 58447.11
ETH 2624.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45