You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What is the cause for people not loving their jobs? Is it the environment or are we the ones to blame?

in #life8 years ago

I think you brought up a lot of good points. Personally, I'm a 5th-year PhD student in Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering. I wouldn't say that I LOVE my research. A lot of what I do would be considered old-fashioned, classical math problems, which sometimes feel like research just for the sake of research. I'm getting to the point where I need to choose between Academics and Industry for my career path (or straight-up entrepreneurship, but that might be a little too risky for me... :p ). Anyway, I like the idea of doing something that you really love, but I also recognize that the majority of people who have ever lived were forced to do whatever jobs they could find, just to earn a wage. I think I will be happy with a job that I'm generally positive about (not necessarily in love with), which has a decent salary and good hours to let me really enjoy the rest of my time, and possibly pursue some entrepreneurial projects on the side ;)

Sort:  

So you are also at that point of your life, where you have to decide which path is the best one. I was once inspired by a speaker who made a video about how the youth should take risks now, until they reach maturity. And how you have nothing to loose during these years, while you can also gain knowledge. My article was based on a subjective point of view, that's why I consider the way you think to be really healthy. As long as you're productive in your work and you are pleased about it, that should be enough.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59228.82
ETH 2524.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52