You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Back then and now: how technology makes my everyday life easier. | Part#1

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Nice article.

I feel that we're getting a little bit too dependant on Google and Fancybook, I mean, Facebook. Recently I had Facebook ask me to confirm my identity, which is weird, since when I initially joined the site, they recommended not to reveal my true identity and use a nickname instead.

Now, after all these years, they did a 180º turn and wanted me to submit a copy of my ID Card or Passport. I refused to send it... and they deleted my account 2 weeks later.

The oddest thing is that from the 220 "friends" I had, only 3 stayed in touch with me. Oh, well...what can I do. I can't force people to follow me here. I tried, they didn't want to.

PS: I found your post because @aggamun featured you in his entry for the Pay It Forward Contest

Sort:  

Yes maybe we are getting a little bit to dependant on Google and Facebook, but something like that, Facebook wants identity confirmation why Facebook need that? I think there is something not right there.

From my experience, Facebook asks for ID following someone reporting your account. It was happening a lot for awhile, people in the real-world Jedi community often do not use their real names (or didn't) - then Facebook started demanding real names and proof from them.
They haven't asked me yet, but I'm sure it's just a matter of time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61728.21
ETH 2680.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56