You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Something to Keep on Running

in #life8 years ago

Luckily for me I live in New Zealand where running is a pretty safe activity. We have lots of trails and footpaths to run on and the lighting is pretty good in most places.

I would hate to have to watch every step and worry about stepping on a snake.

Or have to carry protection from people.

I would agree with one point however - you need to be aware when you are running. Zoning out using headphones will catch up with you one day. You will step out into traffic, and zone back in, in a real hurry.

The experience of running should be experienced, not drowned out by music. Listen to your body, listen to your breath, listen to your heart, .... listen to your life.

If you have to self medicate with music in order to get through a run, perhaps you shouldn't be running........

Sort:  

Actually, believe it or not, rattlesnakes rarely kill when they are older. If you get bitten by a big one, chances are it didn't poison you (their venom is made to poison their food). The small ones are dangerous. You guys have some mean spiders though. That scares my worse than snakes.

And, as far as the music, it is tough. I live in a big city. A lot of noise. Can be hard to concentrate. But I do agree. Listen to the environment.

I think you might be confusing NZ with Australia. We only have one small poisonous spider, and it lives at the beach.

Oz however has horrendous spiders.

The most dangerous things here are the coffee carts. You wont beleive what they charge....

Probably am. Though I know Australia has some nasty beasts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63077.53
ETH 2471.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66