Something to Keep on Running

in #life8 years ago (edited)

With running, there is always fear of injury. We will spend hundreds of dollars on shoes. We will change our gait to minimize pain. We will even get a coach to teach us how to run and train to avoid injury. But one thing we always take for granted is safety. Contrary to popular belief, running, whether done on trails or on the street, and be dangerous. One must always be aware of the things around her. In this article, I will go over some safety tips when running.

Headphones

One thing people like to do (including me) is to disassociate from the world when running. It hides the pain, makes things less boring and spurs ideas (some of my best writing is done when I am running). One way to disassociate is by listening to music while running. Here's the problem with wearing headphones: hearing is one way to be aware of your surroundings. It may be nice to have Led Zeppelin blasting in your ears but that will make it that you cannot hear car horns, sirens bicycle bells. Good music and headphones can also become the focal point for your attention making you forget to use the other senses (like looking where you are steeping). California has had so many issues with inattentive runners that they are thinking of banning headphones while running.

So, take off the headphones and let the world be your music. I never where headphones when I race because I enjoy talking to other people. Never wear headphones in the dark because of the dangers the night can bring and you should be completely aware of you surroundings.

Running Against Traffic

This is a common safety no-no of most runners: running with traffic. Many think that, because we drive and bike in a certain direction, we should also run in that direction. That is dead wrong. You should run against traffic on roads and bike lanes because then you can see what is coming at you and react. You cannot react when you are looking the other way. Most runners that are killed on the road die because the runner is running with traffic and does not get out of the way. The only good news is that the runner typically never knows what, literally, hit him.

Running at Night

Night is a very dangerous time to run but is unavoidable because of the daily duties. If you have to run at night, do the following:

Carry a flashlight.
Wear reflective clothing
Run with a partner (I had a 70 pound dog). Never run alone.
Carry protection (pepper spray or mace).
Run in a well lit area with even ground.
Run on sidewalks (I hate sidewalks but safer than the streets).
Avoid running in the wilderness. Most predators are nocturnal.
Tell someone the route you are going to take.
And, once again NEVER where headphones. It is never good to eliminate one of your senses.

Carry Identification, a Little Money and a Cell Phone

Things can happen. There is always the chance of getting sick or becoming unconscious. Always carry identification with you in case something happens and you have no way to communicate. Also, carry a little money with you, just in case. I have found myself injured in the middle of long runs and unable to get home. Now I carry money just in case I need to take a bus or cab home. It is also good to have cash for emergencies like needing water for dehydration on hot days (this happens often in the summertime). A cell phone is your way to communicate with the world including police. Though I do not think this is an option for a lot of people, carry a phone and make sure it is fully charged.

Trust is a Hard Thing to Come By

I trust no one when I run. I know that the guy in the BMW has a red light and I have the walk signal, but I do not assume he is going to stop (and there is a good chance that he will not). The thought of a six figure court settlement might be an attractive prize but you have to become a hood ornament first and that can become uncomfortable (if you are lucky). That also goes for animals also. Just because a dog has a collar does not mean he wants to be petted and watch out for those sweet deer. Bambi has horns for a reason and he does not trust you either.

Adapt

I was running a trail ultramarathon one weekend and saw a rattlesnake on the trail. I was not paying attention and did not see it until I was practically on top of it. Luckily, it was sunning itself and I was able to jump over it before it knew I was there. But it was pissed after. That night, I learned how to deal with rattlesnake bites. I was being proactive. Always expect the unexpected and be prepared to learn something that may help you. Running is a survival practice. Learn to survive and adapt to the real world when it throws a curve at you.

Don't Panic

I have found myself in some bad situations. I have been lost, out of water and food, unable to see because my flashlight is out and been injured in the middle of nowhere. The key is not to panic. When one does not panic, she is able to think about the situation and find a solution. If you run long enough, you will find yourself in a situation. And you will find a level head will get you out of it.

These are just a few things that will keep you safe when running. The Internet is full of great ideas for runner safety. If you are a new runner, it is a good idea to learn about it.

Visit my site at http://www.reallysorefeet.com

Photos courtesy of:
get-sale.com
haleyduke.com
philrhodes959.blogspot.com
hsl.lib.unc.edu
wmky.org
funbodytherapy.com
7cups.com

Sort:  

Luckily for me I live in New Zealand where running is a pretty safe activity. We have lots of trails and footpaths to run on and the lighting is pretty good in most places.

I would hate to have to watch every step and worry about stepping on a snake.

Or have to carry protection from people.

I would agree with one point however - you need to be aware when you are running. Zoning out using headphones will catch up with you one day. You will step out into traffic, and zone back in, in a real hurry.

The experience of running should be experienced, not drowned out by music. Listen to your body, listen to your breath, listen to your heart, .... listen to your life.

If you have to self medicate with music in order to get through a run, perhaps you shouldn't be running........

Actually, believe it or not, rattlesnakes rarely kill when they are older. If you get bitten by a big one, chances are it didn't poison you (their venom is made to poison their food). The small ones are dangerous. You guys have some mean spiders though. That scares my worse than snakes.

And, as far as the music, it is tough. I live in a big city. A lot of noise. Can be hard to concentrate. But I do agree. Listen to the environment.

I think you might be confusing NZ with Australia. We only have one small poisonous spider, and it lives at the beach.

Oz however has horrendous spiders.

The most dangerous things here are the coffee carts. You wont beleive what they charge....

Probably am. Though I know Australia has some nasty beasts.

Looking to network with some runner's on steem. Follow as I build a blog around life running.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56922.13
ETH 2347.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43