7 Mindset Shifts That Changed My LifesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life6 years ago (edited)

I wish I knew then, what I know now-2.png

I wrote this post exactly 2 years ago and all these things continue to be vital for my wellbeing. I thought I would recycle. I’ll be turning 36 soon.

As the years were sneaking by me, and I approached my 30’s, each year was getting more depressing. I felt as though I wasn’t getting anywhere. I am turning 34 soon and I’m pretty excited about it. For the first time in a long time, I am able to reflect on the positive impact this past year had as well as every other year.

“I thought I knew a lot until I learned a little”

A year and half ago, I became an entrepreneur. Not only did I learn a tremendous amount of things involved in running a business, but I learned even more about myself. I discovered my passions, desires, strengths AND my weaknesses. I also learned a lot of powerful intangible fundamentals that I believe are key to life, especially life as an entrepreneur. “You are your business”

“Life doesn’t happen to us, we make life happen”

It took me 33 whole years to learn these things about myself. The concept around being in total control of my destiny blows my mind. I threw in the towel on sitting around waiting to get lucky. I realized that I was my own worst enemy and I was putting a cap on everything I set out to do.

“Change the way you look at things, things you look at change”

I started exploring beliefs I had about myself, things and life that I have obtained over the past 33 years. I never would have imagined the impact these beliefs had over me if I didn’t look at them in a different light. These past beliefs made up the path I was heading down and ultimately my destiny. I am so grateful I made this discovery –that path did not look appealing.

I wish I knew then, what I know now-3.png

“Pick your battles”

I am now on another path, and it’s not the path of least resistance. It’s a path that is made up of new beliefs that, at times, will be hard work and full of obstacles –I’m OK with that. I now know, regardless of the direction, they all have challenges. I made a decision to choose the path with obstacles that would continue to move me forward to my desires. I chose the ones that would serve me today and in the future. Obstacles aren’t as scary to me now that I have the mindset to overcome them.

“May your choices reflect your hopes, not your fears”

As an entrepreneur, I am faced with making decisions often. I always struggled with making decisions and realized that fear of making the wrong decision had me always playing it safe. As a person, I’m probably more of a risk taker in some areas (or I wouldn’t have become an entrepreneur in the first place) but it doesn’t mean I don’t have several fears. Fear is a bitch, and it’s not going anywhere. I continue to face it, embrace it and let it go. I’ve learned to recognize when fear is playing a role.

Ego says, “Once everything falls into place, I’ll find Piece”. Spirit says, “Find Piece, and then everything will fall into place”

In conjunction with everything I have learned, connecting spiritually was huge for me. I gained awareness with my present, past and future. It allows me to trust my intuition and utilize it to my advantage. It keeps me grounded and in line with my passions and purpose. I am content and open to new experiences.

“To the humble, everyone’s a teacher, to the proud no one is”

Most importantly, I learned how vital it is to learn, be humble and continue to fuel myself with relevant knowledge and new skills that will continue to serve me. I just can’t get enough! Much of my inspiration comes from other successful people who have achieved similar goals and I will continue to learn from them.

So, this year, I really have something to celebrate –My life. My destiny.

~Tressa

#life #humble #foreverstudent #blog #steemit

Sort:  

Nice Post. I agree that spiritual development is as much a part of the journey as the business skill development, emotional development, and just growth. I love your quote:

Ego says, “Once everything falls into place, I’ll find Piece”. Spirit says, “Find Piece, and then everything will fall into place”

That rings very true with me as well. Ego holds onto fear of the unknown, spirit says "give it a crack - trust me & trust yourself"

Nice to meet you on here :-)

Thanks for reading! You're right, the ego can lead our lives in fear If we let it, keeping us small and safe. The biggest lesson I've learned in regards to the ego, is we can't fight it or try to make it disappear, but only practice choosing the spirit (intuition) over the ego, the fear then becomes only a background noise, rather the the leader.

Wow. Thank u so much for this.

You are very Welcome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58551.10
ETH 2514.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35