You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How Vaccines Have Altered U.S. Health, Summarized in One Graphic

in #life7 years ago

Vaccines are good. After going to nursing school and working in a hospital (and seeing the reintroduction of whooping cough and measles because of anti-vaxers) I find it utterly ridiculous not to vaccinate. It's a shame that the internet brought us unlimited info, which was good, but unlimited means not vetted as well, which is bad because people often see faulty info first and believe it, and once somebody believes something they will fight to defend their belief.

Sort:  

which is bad because people often see faulty info first and believe it, and once somebody believes something they will fight to defend their belief.

which is exactly how you arrived at your position!

I was actually exposed to the anti-vax position first and thought it had some merit, then I was exposed to more information, microbiology, peer reviewed information. I admit, I've been duped many times in my life and it will probably happen again, but I question myself more than ever now that I have an understanding of how dangerous our own beliefs are once we form them. I think we must continually question our own beliefs and use critical thinking skills when assessing supporting and conflicting information. -And thank you for reading my comment and interacting with me, always makes the steemit experience better!

As a parent I and my better half have been on the fence. We're not giving our kid every vaccine out there and read the ingredients. On the other hand, now that I know how a baby develops, I'm noticing a lot of kids the same age as mine that don't show the range of emotions and etc that kids should show, mainly due to parental neglect. Kids have no change in expression, don't smile, etc. As most autism diagnosis are made at 12 months (to my knowledge), the same time as the biggest batch of vaccinations, I can see how easy it is to believe that the baby was in perfect health prior to the vac.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62836.52
ETH 2558.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72