Jaw Surgery: Story & Photos: Hospital - Day 8!

in #life7 years ago

A lot can change in 8 days with anything in life but especially with something like the recovery from jaw surgery. These pictures tell a story of my recovery from just after surgery to Day 8.

IMG_3268.JPG

After 8 days, I can tell you a few things:

▪️My friends and family are high class, high quality people! Thank you over and over for the countless positive vibes, love, & prayers! You are definitely part of why my recovery is going so well!

▪️I am actually enjoying my vitamix and blended food! Did you know that Greek and Mexican are both delicious puréed? I give the Greek a slight edge up. Not bored yet and still having fun with new flavor combos.

▪️I am still swollen but the pictures can tell you how far down I am. I will say I do still feel like Mrs. Potato Head when I see my side profile. Swelling will take up to 6 months to go away.

▪️I am still quite numb. I am regaining feeling each day as nerves wake up. I can't help but think of the song, "I can't feel my face when I'm with you." ha ha! Numbness can take anywhere between two weeks and one year to go away.

▪️I DO look different. How could I not. I am enjoying revealing my old face. My chin and jaw are pretty much back to where they were when I was in high school.

▪️My TMD is gone. My jaw is locked into place with titanium plates and bolts - they are fascinatingly small. I have never been in any pain (dull at worse) before or after surgery.

▪️Ice & heat packs are amazingly effective.

▪️I'm down to just taking Children's Motrin twice a day.

▪️I have to sleep at at least a 30° angle. Sleeping on a wedge pillow is surprisingly comfortable. I love my travel neck pillow too.

▪️I have 6 rubber bands. I am not completely rubberbanded shut because my surgery went so well and my bite is in the perfect position. Did you know they are actually not just to help keep me together? They are there to help train my jaw!

▪️I can talk pretty clearly. I have loved my white board & boogie board (thanks, Miranda!) as means of communication when I need a break.

▪️If you ever have chapped lips, get aquaphor it works really well!

▪️Obviously, this will be a fun and hot topic for me for a while. If you ever have questions or are curious about something, just ask!

💁🏻❤️🙏🏼#jawsurgery #roadtorecovery

Sort:  

Wow! Incredible transformation and info, thank you!

Some nice pieces there, thanks for sharing.

@travelingartgal

@zorro7 got you a $2.2 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice!
@zorro7 got you a $2.2 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice! (Image: pixabay.com)


Want a boost? Click here to read more!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95