Do Adults Really Know What They Are Doing?

in #life7 years ago

When I was a child, I used to be so impressed with the wisdom that my parents and adults their age seemed to have in general. I used to believe that they knew what to do and how to do everything and always knew best.

Although I still believe that they are very wise people, I have come to understand that wisdom comes with experience. More often than not, it comes from bad experiences. I remember a saying which goes, “We learn to make the right decisions based on experience and we get experience from bad decisions.”

Anyways, this is what I was thinking about today and this is something that I have always noticed around me. We as kids thought adults just “knew” what they were doing and now that I am grown up, I realize that, that is completely not true whatsoever. In fact, we are all living lives in a “trial and error” manner.

It’s All Trial and Error

In school, we were taught about this ‘trial and error’ method in our mathematics class where we used to test out different set of parameters until we stumbled upon the solution. It seems that is the default mode of operation of most adults.

It is true that there is no blueprint to life and so nobody knows exactly what to do or who to talk to, how to behave and so on. In fact, some of the most important things in life are not even taught in schools, which is ironical because school is the place where we all go to ‘learn’ and grow as human beings from children to adults.

But when you come to the real world, you realize that most of the times, you really don’t know what you are doing and so you either you have to ask around or make mistakes until you learn for yourself. Most of the times it is the latter.

That has also been how we as a race have advanced too. We tried out several things and stuck with ways that work and discarded the ones that didn’t.

Learn From Your Mistakes

So, when we have established that life indeed works on a trial and error method, it is confirmed that mistakes will be made. That is just how it works and will always work. So, what can we humans do?

Well, learn from your mistakes and try not to repeat them. I think it was Thomas Edison who said, when asked about his thousand failures before finally inventing the light bulb, “I haven’t failed a thousand times, I have discovered thousand ways it cannot be done.”

Every mistake is a lesson on its own and thankfully we make them on a daily basis. Some of them are really small and some of the are really huge, but we learn nonetheless. And I am glad that we do, because what meaning would our lives have if we didn’t learn. Isn’t that who we are as a species?

So, I encourage you to make mistakes and make a lot of them, as ridiculous as that may sound, in the hopes that we will all grow and learn from each other.

Sort:  

Thats exactly what Im teaching my kids... dont be afraid to make mistakes! Sad thing is, were being too frowned upon when making a mistake, like its not tolerated.
Really nice to read the part about wisdom and parents knowing everything, as I had the same thoughts just a month ago. 2 years ago I became a mother and then it hit me.. parents dont know sh*t, they just pretend they do haha. And I think thats maybe what we all do everyday.

So true. We are all so afraid of making mistakes because we think that's the end. But instead, we always become wiser after making a mistake and only those people learn who have made mistakes in life. The "pretending" part is so true haha!

Parents seem so infallible when we are young. It's funny that now, I feel as though my parents were extremely young when they had me and my sister. They were and are wise people, just not really as confident as I thought they were. Standing firmly in adulthood now myself, I realize they were making honest mistakes too. God knows I've made mine. Thanks for the insights, blessings!

That is exactly what my experience has been as well. As an adult now I realize how difficult (impossible actually) it is to make constant right decisions.

wow, amazing. it is really fantastic. keep posting such interesting and eyes catching stuff. Thank you.

Thank you so much :)

Toller Post und sehr interessant! :-)

Werde dir mal folgen...

Grüße aus Deutschland (Berlin )
@robert-wicke

Thank you :)

Greetings from India.

Nice writing. In addition to the thought, human experience is the sum of the heaps that are eaten in life.

That is so true.

yes.thank you

Useful motivation, thanks for writing this ,,

Thanks for reading ^_^

They know when they have a limited time.

Ive been scrolling down your posts and i love em! please follow me too☺

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65248.25
ETH 3471.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51