Bed Time Rituals To Follow For A Better Sleep

in #life6 years ago

woman-2197947_1280.jpg

We all have hectic lifestyle and so we all really look forward to our bedtime when we finally get to rest our body and mind which feels like the ultimate pleasure every single night. As we all know, we human beings sleep so that we can get recharged and healed and are ready for our work the next day.

A night of good sleep means you wake up feeling refreshed, energized and ready to take on any task. A night of bad sleep, and you feel groggy and don’t even want to get our of bed. But we all know, that we have to and we do it reluctantly and end up spending the day, trying to stay awake.

So, getting the necessary hours of sleep is very important, but we all know that it can become a huge challenge to do that, as our lifestyle is not very healthy nowadays and has become more tech filled. Therefore, I bring to you some bedtime rituals that you can follow to get better sleep every night.

1. No Screens Before Bed

male-2013929_1280.jpg

We all have a habit of overusing our smartphones and laptops and end up working on them up til the time we are in bed. That is really a bad habit because this delays our sleep. This is because of all the blue light coming out of the screens that make our body think that it is still day time and screws up with the body’s natural rhythm.

That is why there have been increasing adoption of dark mode in smartphones and the ones that turn your screens orange. But still you should completely avoid all screens at least an hour before bed. If you really want to indulge in something, you could read a book, which could actually help you sleep faster.

2. Meditation

yoga-3053488_1280.jpg

I can’t tell you how many nights I have had to turn to meditation to help me sleep better. The thing is that our mind likes to keep thinking and even when you are on the bed, the mind doesn’t shut up. That is why we can all turn to meditation to stop the mind’s chatter and help us focus towards sleep.

It is not necessary that we do meditation just before sleep, and can be done in the morning as well because meditation has a holistic approach to your well-being. But yes, if you are tossing left and right at night, you can absolutely get up and sit on your bed and meditate for a while.

3. Warm Milk

milk-3231772_1280.jpg

As a child, my mother used to give me warm milk to help me sleep and it always worked. I never understood why it worked but I was only concerned that it did. As I grew older, I had forgotten about this remedy and would often remember suddenly when I just couldn’t sleep and guess what? It worked again and again.

Then I did some googling about why it works. There is a hormone called tryptophan that is found in milk that helps you sleep better. So, you can have a glass of milk before bed and I assure you that you will be sound sleeping in no time at all.

4. Nature Sounds

water-3194377_1280.jpg

One thing that I experimented with a lot was different soundtracks that claimed to get you to sleep. There were some which were purely sound frequencies and then there were guided meditation tracks but what I found best for me were the nature soundtracks. You can get them for free on the internet.

I suggest you download them to your smartphone or an mp3 player (because it wouldn’t have a screen), and just concentrate on the sounds of nature like flowing water, sounds of forests, rainfall, ocean waves, storm and many more. It should help you fall asleep for sure.

Sort:  

I have tried milk and nature sounds. Yes, they seem to work. :)

Yes, they work. :)

a very useful tip worth and worth to practice in daily life for the sake of maintaining health ..

They are sure worth a try, if it solves such a big problem.

Those 4 ways are excellent but I can't help using one more, TV,...I don't watch it mostly or I watch movies or TV Series...It is not that TV Set is tool for better sleep but habbits are so powerful that are the ones keeping TV Set in the sleeping room...or before sleep...

yeah, TV is just another screen that we should stay away from before sleep.

Thank you for this. This will really be helpful to solve my sleep problems of late. :)

I am glad I could help :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66976.31
ETH 3509.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70