You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Exposing my vulnerabilities #2

in #life6 years ago

I think you have a lot of very good points and I like that there is a discussion of the human aspect behind someone who was once a criminal and is now marginalized for that label.

i read the other day, about how many people in jail are suffering from depression or mental illness, and how there just isnt the money or desire to help them. sort of a tough love, you've dug your grave now lay in it.

the stigma on mental illness coupled by the social reluctance to discuss it openly for fear of making other people feel uncomfortable keeps this issue in the shadows.

i love your idea of directing your energies to helping others. I think you should explore the idea more before you give up on it

Sort:  

had a good talk to the psychologist whilst i was in there. even showed him my timelapses ;)

he raised a good point about empathetic people like myself, and how we, although are struggling a lot, try to take on other peoples issues and help them instead of dealing with our own demons.
he made a good point. i realised long ago that, to put my own drama on the back burner helps me to deal with my issues, because it gives me more knowledge, which i can often use to attack my problems from a different angle.

spoke to him about getting into youth services, and how i want to change the world.
when he asked about thoughts of self harm, i told him no. though it took me a moment to answer.
i explained that i have a lot more to do here ( on earth ) before i leave. i cant go till ive made a difference. he liked that answer.

i like that answer too. I think it's something to think about in the conversation you put down in your posts. i do it too, the self hate talk. so you do it to tell others, or to tell yourself?

and I think you make an excellent point about empathetic people. they often go about helping others to the point of self neglect, never seeing how they self harm, because - at least to me - helping others is almost a karmic debt we pay because we want others to care for us. its backward thinking, and ive recently come to realize the price i've paid for using it to prove my worth.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60736.77
ETH 2370.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63