My addiction to game has stolen 10 years of my life

in #life7 years ago

186_171242475.jpg
After reading the blog of @dollarvigilante : https://steemit.com/life/@jeffberwick/why-i-stopped-drinking-alcohol-and-will-never-drink-again I decided to share my addiction history.

When I was about 12 years old my cousin were living in our house during holidays. He introduced to me a game that was totally new because it was virtual world in the internet. It was one of the first games of that type I think even World of Warcraft wasn't created yet. This game was Tibia. We spent whole holidays killing monsters, upgrading equipment , gaining levels and making online friends.quararaid.jpg

After holidays my cousin got bored of this game, he moved with his parents to other city and started to make friends, partying , just having fun while for me it was the beginning of addiction. My life since then had one pattern :

  • Waking up and going to school
  • Back from school and play Tibia till late night
  • Sleeping
It was Tibia-mania in Poland these days and even when I was in school i was talking with schoolmates about this game. During holidays I was playing whole days and nights i rarely seen the sun. After maybe 2 years everyone forgot about Tibia but I was still playing and didn't even realise that im wasting and ruining my life.

I played compulsively for about 10 years, even started to earning money from it. When i realised that I was losing the best times of life behind the computer instead of having fun with friends it was too late. I didn't have friends. I couldn't even communicate well with people because i was too accustomed to using chat instead of my mouth. I still stopped playing it but jumped to another games since i couldnt find myself in a real world that was dramatic.

Now I am free for 4 years and it is still hard for me to make new friends but I found fantastic girlfriend which soon I will marry and have a little group of friends. I think I am happy right now but when my friends or girl talks about past, for example their memories then i feel sad because i don't have my own memories I lost huge part of my life.
I wish I could get back those 10 years...
I can only advice you to use every minute of your life like it is your last minute.

There also is my blog what I did yesterday after losing my job:


https://steemit.com/dolarvigilante/@tookas/jeff-berwick-dollarvigilante-and-steemit-community-helped-me-when-i-lost-my-job

What do you think about my blog? Share your opinion in comments!

Sort:  

When i was in colleged i was addicted with games too, but i managed to finsihed my study. But being an addict in game will make you realize...sometimes we need to value more about the real life.

There is nothing more important than a real life now i know it but it will not give me back the time i lost

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60345.08
ETH 2986.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81