But where did I go wrong?

in #life6 years ago

Let me tell you a quick story about where I come from. I am a born and bred Yoruba man. I live in the outskirts of Ede town, they call my people the ‘Irawaya’ due to their believe of been the best set of Yoruba’s in our region.

I was appalled after knowing that my first wife had paid an unknown woman to steal my second wife's newly born baby, my own pride, how mean?

This has become the discussion in many households around me. I was not really aware of the incoming problem when I married a second wife a year and half ago. This was after I realized that my very first wife was barren. Was that a bad move?

The love I have for Arike, my first wife is boundless and unconditional despite knowing her condition of barreness. I knew she needed my attention, love and care which I was totally willing to give till my last breath, but you must understand that mans need to procreate too. It is a mandate to all men.

To tactfully handle the situation, I built a house for my second wife, Asake adjacent Arike's in the same compound. Everything changed about Arike thereafter, she began to pick quarrels with myself and Asake at every slightest provocation.

This quarrels got worse when Asake became pregnant, not a day would pass without Arike picking a quarrel with either of us.

When I realized that her constant troubles were too much for us to handle, to mention that she began to curse the unborn child. This led my decision to move Asake into a rented house far away from Arike. I’m sure you’ll support that move too.

1ACC368D-A302-4434-B692-6B8C552EB10D.jpeg

The time came and Asake gave birth. I rejoiced because she had delivered a baby boy and so to support her I established a shop for her where she can run a business.

It was just as if I poured fuel into Arike's burning anger, even though she pretended to have accepted her fate. She fooled me into believing that the feud had ended. She had contracted an elderly woman to steal the baby and bring to her.

Passer-bys said the woman went to Asake's shop pretending to be a customer. She requested for a great number of items. Asake must serve the order from the shop so she asked this elderly woman to hold the baby.

When Asake returned with the order in a polythene bag she found out that the woman and the baby were missing.

Hurriedly she sounded an alarm to alert passer-bys which embarked on trailing the woman.

The woman was seen at a distance running with the baby and it took some really good sprinters to stop her. The woman did not want to divulge anything when questioned, but trust the police, a few slaps on her cheek made her speak out.

When I, Alani arrived at the Police satiation words failed me, I pleaded with the police to allow me handle the case on a family level which they agreed.

Since then Arike has not been seen, speculations is she has left for good.

If you were Alani, just getting to know about Arike's predicament, how would you have managed the situation?

@tomilolafadipe assumed Alani's character in the short story, in addition, those beautiful ladies are not my wives, but my lovely cousins Bimpe and Damola.

Emerge!

Original post by me here

Sort:  

Since she's has left, there's no need to do anything else. But she must never forget just in case

Nice post. Photography is beautiful. Thanks @tomilolafadipe

Hi there! I just upvoted you, I am a semibot that sometimes vote on great content or sometimes just Create useful content. I am helping @cheetah , @FollowForUpvotes , @minnowSupport , @steemgigs , @dropahead #bots and other users right now for making the steem more helpful to new users. Contact me if you want me to follow on your content or comments. If you have any query then please contact me. You can always send me SP or SBD so i can keep helping you indirectly by helping these awesome bots.



Do not forget to Follow @jeevanot, I actually create content as HUMAN.
Random Gift Photo For Your Better Mood: Click It!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62104.41
ETH 2404.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49