Adventurous road trip…in 7 days, let's go West!

in #life7 years ago

Adventurous road trip…in 7 days, lets go West!
IMG_0552.jpg

I’ve always heard that people who can get comfortable being uncomfortable are the ones that are really experiencing life and living it. A month ago we went on a road trip and visited many states and national parks in 7 days. It was uncomfortable at times, filled with incredible landscapes, fun times and in the end it was a fantastic experience that my family and I will always remember. Grateful to be able to share the time with my family and go places that we have never been before. Here are some photos from each place we visited.

States we visited:
Minnesota, South Dakota, Colorado, Wyoming, Utah, Arizona, New Mexico, Texas, Oklahoma, Kansas, Missouri, Iowa

Miles traveled: 4,335

Places we visited:
Badlands Nat’l Park
IMG_0279.jpg
Mount Rushmore
IMG_0415.jpg
The Arches Nat’l Park - My son and I in the Delicate Arch, absolutely worth the hike.
IMG_0934.jpg
Canyonlands Nat’l Park - taking in the sunrise and getting our jump on!
IMG_0594.jpg
Bryce Canyon Nat’l Park - A family picture after miles of hiking in the canyon.
IMG_1111.jpg
Coral Pink Sand Dunes - Sunset!
IMG_1414.jpg
Zion Nat’l Park - Hiked up to Angels Landing, beautiful view!
IMG_1255.jpg
Lone Rock Beach @ Glen Canyon
IMG_1439.jpg
Horseshoe Bend
IMG_1472.jpg
Grand Canyon Nat’l Park - the canyon among canyons.
IMG_1529.jpg

So the next time you are unsure about going somewhere or doing something uncomfortable, go for it! It will change your perspective and you will gain valuable experiences. Visit somewhere new each year. Road trip anyone?

Sort:  

Looks like a great trip. Nice pictures. What do you have against Nebraska? You traveled in every state that border it, but didn't visit? Oh well, maybe next time.
:)

Thanks! Nothing against Nebraska, went through there a few years ago. It's all good, go Cornhuskers!

Very nice!! Travelling is fun, Not only fun it fills excitement in life, adventure too. isn't it..

Thanks! Yes it's very fun and want to make sure our boys have the experience of many places.

I did a couple of trips like that with my kids. We went slightly more north from Michigan to Iowa, back through Utah, South Dakota. Great memories and great pics. Thanks for sharing!

@dolation its always great to hear others doing trips like this. I believe it gives our kids a different perspective on life anytime we can have them experience and see different places. I'm sure you have some great memories with your family!

Amazing photos, I love them! Good work.

Thank you, amazing landscape!

How did you like angels landing? Its one of my favorite hikes. I'm a local, I live between Zion and the Coral Pinks. and my best advice.. next time sign up for one of the hikes that you need to preregister for like the narrows or the subway. Angels landing is the best first hike though.. It seems like you got to stop at a lot of the really nice places in Utah though so that's awesome. Keep travelling and catching more pictures. I will follow!

I loved angels landing. Obviously in a couple spots it tests your will to get to the top. I wanted to do the narrows but it was closed because the river was flowing to quickly. We had beautiful weather and will stay longer next time. You have some beautiful views in your area. The plan is to keep traveling and capturing the moment with more pictures. Thanks for your advice!

Awesome! I love this, your kiddos are so lucky to have you guys. How do they like traveling?

Thank you! They enjoy going to different spots. We've road tripped to Myrtle Beach and went up the coast to DC and back home to WI. We also went out to CO 3 years ago and went to many places in a few day window. I'm glad they like to travel and road trip, they see it as fun, not "we are going to be in the car for how long". Spontaneous is good at times :)

That's great! I'm glad they enjoy it I'm sure they'll keep that travel bug in 'em forever!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 61839.57
ETH 3411.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52