You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I Am Not My Job – I Am Me

in #life8 years ago

So before I go into my thoughts on the opposing view, I wanted to let you know that I did upvote your post because I thought it was an excellent well written article, and you did a great job presenting your view.

I do agree with the part about not making your job your identity, but I take issue with your lack of work ethic.

I don't want to be at work anymore than you do. (I would rather be at home spending more time on Steemit.) Most people have to do some type of work for society to pay for all the things they get in return - food, clothes, a house, entertainment..

We should do work for other people, rather than just always benefiting from the hard work that everyone else is doing. To not provide society with some form of contribution in return seems selfish.

Sort:  

I don't believe that I said I didn't do everything that was required of me. I just long ago stopped jumping through the never ending hoops for treats. I don't go to medical and claim some injury that would get me a waiver to not do work either. If I have to be at work at 6:45am, then that is when I am there - not 6am. Same goes at the end of the day, if shift is over at 3pm, well I am out around then too. I don't leave my work out all over the place, I make sure everything is accounted for and in its place. But I am done right around that time. They can make me stay later, but unless they do I am out.

I give my 15 pieces of flair, as that is the requirement. You won't find me in the club that plans the Christmas party (that I don't attend) or in the club that is planning the next bake sale or in any of the other endless clubs that have been created so a person can say they are a member. You won't find me working 12 hour shifts unless I am told to.

I've been on seemingly never ending 14 hour shifts, 6 days a week for years on end. All I did on that one day off was laundry and sleeping in. For three years. No dating, no going out with friends, nothing else but work - sleep - work.

The thing is when I was doing that I didn't get a single extra cent. My paycheck was the same as the people that do other jobs in the military, that just did their normal 8 hour shifts 5 days a week.

So forgive me for not doing one darn thing extra that I am not forced to. Instead I have used this time to do the things that I want to do - things that bring me closer to the life I wish to lead.

Just explaining my reasoning, thanks for the upvote :)

Haha omg having the time for dating with works commitments or even family is a whole other article in itself also.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65697.93
ETH 3342.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63