You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I Am Not My Job – I Am Me

in #life8 years ago (edited)

I don't believe that I said I didn't do everything that was required of me. I just long ago stopped jumping through the never ending hoops for treats. I don't go to medical and claim some injury that would get me a waiver to not do work either. If I have to be at work at 6:45am, then that is when I am there - not 6am. Same goes at the end of the day, if shift is over at 3pm, well I am out around then too. I don't leave my work out all over the place, I make sure everything is accounted for and in its place. But I am done right around that time. They can make me stay later, but unless they do I am out.

I give my 15 pieces of flair, as that is the requirement. You won't find me in the club that plans the Christmas party (that I don't attend) or in the club that is planning the next bake sale or in any of the other endless clubs that have been created so a person can say they are a member. You won't find me working 12 hour shifts unless I am told to.

I've been on seemingly never ending 14 hour shifts, 6 days a week for years on end. All I did on that one day off was laundry and sleeping in. For three years. No dating, no going out with friends, nothing else but work - sleep - work.

The thing is when I was doing that I didn't get a single extra cent. My paycheck was the same as the people that do other jobs in the military, that just did their normal 8 hour shifts 5 days a week.

So forgive me for not doing one darn thing extra that I am not forced to. Instead I have used this time to do the things that I want to do - things that bring me closer to the life I wish to lead.

Just explaining my reasoning, thanks for the upvote :)

Sort:  

Haha omg having the time for dating with works commitments or even family is a whole other article in itself also.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58754.61
ETH 2507.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47