Truths about life that everyone should realize - sooner or later.

in #life8 years ago (edited)

Okay so I'm a "young adult". I say that in quotation marks because it sounds so grown-up, but really that label just defines the awkward stage post-school or post-college phase where you're just kinda trying to figure your life out (or more like get it together, really) and you realize all the things you can't do yet.

And all the stuff that adults have to deal with, which you were never taught. 

And all the stuff that your mom does so effortlessly, but are actually quite difficult. 


So now as I'm growing older and turning 25 soon, I'm becoming a real adult. not a young adult anymore. 

I feel like the last few years, or pretty much since my 18th birthday, I've matured a lot and realized a lot of things that I was still desperately trying to hang on to as a teenager. 

For example that you can't make everyone happy - yes that sounds so stereotypical, but I guess everyone has to realize for themselves that it is in fact true. 

Also, having people you can count on is more important than ever. 

And trying to impress others or make them like you doesn't work in the long run, trust me. 



Can you relate? What are some things that you are realizing about adulthood, and maybe you wish you'd realized this earlier !? 

Sort:  

Make time to enjoy your life, it goes by in the blink of an eye. Spend too much time thinking about the future and not enough time thinking about the now can end up being stressful.

Be decisive, the hardest questions you will ask your self as you age are, what if I had? Be resolute in your decisions, even if they turn out badly. You decided to do something, don't leave your self room for those what if I had questions.

Be good to others while you are at it... ;) I know of many mortals who didn't, now I'm fine with their decisions, but lets just say they aren't.

Congratulations @timclarke! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Congratulations @timclarke! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66222.18
ETH 3310.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70