Shakira one of my rescue Dogs

in #life7 years ago (edited)


I have two dogs now and both came from no kill rescue shelters.
In 2014 my old faithful Leo the Great Pyrenees had developed hip dysplasia. He was a good boy and a real trooper.
He was 13 years old and had already outlived the life expectancy of the Pyrenees breed, I spoiled him rotten because the love was unconditional.

I had to do the unthinkable and have him put down because of various health issues. I did so on May 21, 2014. :)
I was there for him to the bitter end. He sat like a "Good Boy" when they injected the pink fluid into his right front leg that they had shaved.

That day really sucked because on that day he had really perked up. He had perked up because he went for a "Car Ride" ( He loved car rides) The nurse also helped hold him during his final breath, when the "pink fluid" hit him he took a big gasp and relaxed like a big fluffy white cloud and floated to the floor. I see the big fluffy clouds of May I see him often. (Goose bumps)
Long story short...

Christmas was approaching and I was very sad. I used to spend my Christmas holidays with some extra time snuggling my best buddy but he was no longer greeting me at the front door when I came home from work, he was at the rainbow bridge playing with all the other animals. Seems he had forgotten me or so it seems. I was so sad and dreaded coming home to an empty doorway. There was no more fur on the carpets, there was no longer emptied bowls to fill. the tears and the sadness would overwhelm me each day as Christmas approached, I was a wreck.

To fill my time and in hopes of finding some companionship I resorted to Facebook. I was a mess. Clicking on the most unfeeling crap in the world.
All of a sudden this one post popped up over and over again. The post was from a facebook page called "Heaven can wait" It caught my eye!!!

In that first post I saw that they were asking for temporary volunteers to foster rescue animals for the Christmas holidays, they said it would help the animals and give the staff a break. I perked right up and was now sitting on the edge of me seat.

I will insert the rest of the happy story here in this spot another day.

Long story short I volunteered to take in a big badass Mastiff Shepard x I failed profusely at the temporary part and he is now with me forever. Turns out after all that Leo whom was playing and frolicking at the rainbow bridge didn't forget me after all. He sent me Wrangler. If that wasn't enough a year later the kennel sent me a text :) :) :) asking me if I could do it again and take on one more temporary fostering, I failed again at the temporary part and on Christmas day I asked Shakira if I could keep her. It would give you goose bumps if you were with me that day. You should have seen her swirl around in circles in JOY when she said yes.

I just broke down crying with happy tears as I was typing this...I will have to pick up later where I left off....

Sort:  

Beautiful story, the kind the Off-grid Ghoul is completely incapable of experiencing...

My first dog came from a resuce centre her name was Hobo, i still miss her over 35 years later.
I'm just about to take Peggy out for her daily in the park, sometimes I think i love her more than the wife, I wouldn't go for a walk with her in the pissing rain.
Your a good man Timcat.

My girl friend often asks me if I love the dogs more than her and my answer is always YES

In memory of Joy. Good on ya TC.... Thunbs Up

Aww Happy ending. I hate saying goodbye to our furry babies. Beautiful dog Shakira!

She was not high on the list as being adoptable. She had nipping issues. Yes she nipped me a few times and it hurt like a bastard. I licked my wounds and jst kept my head held up high, she soon learned that I was the alpha. She hasn't bitten me in a whole two days...just kidding she hasn't bitten me for 2 years. Her nick names are Mo Shari chakita. The bad ass Masstiff Shep x is currently wearing a cone of shame...he got an itch and scratched his skin just a tad too much. He hates that fucking CONE.

Have you tried the inflatable donuts that attach to their regular collar? Much more comfortable for the dog and the side vision isn't blocked. My dog uses the donut as a pillow and enjoys napping with it. I won't ever use a cone again but only the donuts.

Thank you so much for the advice. Been looking for 2 days on who gave me this advice. We both love his new Zencollar.

Glad the donut collar helped. I hate the cones and feel they are cruel to use. The donut doesn't block their side vision and is way more comfortable. You have to add more air to make the collar firmer if the dog can still get to his wound.
I replied on your youtube also. I am clone TimCat and been talking to you for years dude. lol. I have an aussie shepard and a Schipperke.

Never heard of such a thing. I am going to look into that. Thanks.

Lost my dog 2 years ago.

I thought of fostering but would be like you and would not want to give up a dog, my fear is I would turn into a dog hoarder...

Glad everything turned out good for you.

Do it. the Rescue I work with would never let that happen, the owner adopts the adopter. She's knows both dogs and people. Here is Shakira's first xmas with us. Truly was a Christmas magical moment. Her stained eyes have disappeared.

My little old black Pomeranian is turning 18 this month. He is still perky but has to be carried almost everywhere because of the degenerative hip and patella diseases. He is on Oxycontin and steroids so he feels pretty good most of the time.

:( sorry to hear about this dilemma with your fur friend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60514.84
ETH 2575.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56