It may be old, but that doesn't mean its junk

in #life8 years ago (edited)

Anyone who has read my posts knows that I love cars, I have since I was a kid. It all started with a model my aunt and uncle got me, I can't remember if it was my birthday, Christmas, or if it was just a gift, but I remember the car. It was a White 65 Ford Shelby GT350 with blue racing stripes, it was beautiful, and from that day forward I've loved cars.

Cars are more than just transportation to me

Sure that may be the cars sole purpose, but its so much more. Something great happens when you buy a car that others see as junk, and after putting in the time you resurrect it, making it as nice as the day it was new. You can really bond with your car, and anyone who has ever worked on a car with a parent, family, or friend, you get a lil' closer to them also.

I still have the old truck that my dad drove

I don't keep it because I love the truck, I keep it because I love my dad, and even tho I can't see him, when I get in that old truck it feels like he's there with me. Now I know some may think that's crazy, but to me it isn't crazy at all, hell it likely keeps me sane. I only got 24 years with my dad, and it was no where near enough time, so I do what I can to keep him with me, cause I wasn't ready to let him go.

Its more than just metal and paint to me

Its the memories, remembering how it felt just riding around with him talking about whatever, or just sitting on the tailgate having a laugh. Sure, I could have those memories without that truck, but that truck was something we shared, and if I ever have a kid its something I will share with them, its more of a family heirloom than a truck. I have had that old truck nearly 15 years and next month will be 11 years since I lost my dad, so that truck has 4 years of great memories.

Sort:  

My dad has a 70 Oldsmobile an he loves it more then his new Subaru and Toyota Truck

Yea, theres something special about old cars.

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.4. Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise.

Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61691.46
ETH 3047.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88