Gay Republican’s Epic Mini-Rant on Sh!thole Countries!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

So yesterday was a frustrating day to say the least. I heard the comment that Trump made about Haiti being a shithole country, and thought to myself; Well, yeah that's true, according to the standards of living that I've grown accustom to anyway. In fact, most people living in a first world country would subjectively see Haiti as a shithole.

Now, granted that's not the best terminology to use, it's not polite and of course it's going to offend some folks. Especially Haitians who have any sense of national pride. But, I bet if you asked some poor Haitian if they'd rather live in America over Haiti, many of them would choose America in a heartbeat, if not for the opportunity alone!

Just like poor people in America who live in a ghetto will talk about wanting to "get up out of the ghetto". Poor people in Haiti want to get up out of their country into one with more to offer.

Well, the media yet again took his comments as an opportunity to try and smear the President as a racist. You see what they did was try to convert Trump's negative opinion about the conditions in Haiti into a "racist rant" against the Haitian people. It had to have been one of the most blatantly despicable tricks that I've ever seen the media collectively engage in.

That was the frustrating aspect of it, how does one best expose the logical fallacy that the media is passing off as if though it is truth. Then I stumbled onto this video by someone who calls himself 'The Gay Republican' and I think his rant perfectly encapsulates the issue. Enjoy!

VIDEO: YouTube.com/channel/UC_Qdfs7iE_3khDYIu4Nof8A

That last zinger he threw in about Haitians and AIDS was pretty crude, but I didn't want to not post the video just because of that one comment, so if you got triggered your just going to have to deal with it.

That aside, here's a thought experiment for you: If it is true that Trump is racist for thinking that Haiti is a shithole. Then by that logic, any celebrity who chooses to live in a gated neighborhood, as opposed to a hood in Compton, is clearly racist against black people. Right?

P.S. When I think about America, and compare it in my mind to other more desirable countries, then America really starts to seem like a shithole to me. Also, I would be happy and willing to go to those places if they'd take me. However, most of these countries require that you have something to bring to the table, and well, I don't. So hit the upvote button, maybe one day I'll become Steemit rich enough to GTFO of here!

Sort:  

D trump has no filter so despite what he may or may not have meant of course the media is gonna jump all over it.
PS not a trump supporter.... we need to be truly greater than a two party system

Well, I support him to the extent to where he is trying to patch up the American economy. All the saber rattling BS should really come to an end though, it's dangerous business. I agree with you, but I think that everyone should become libertarians. Do you know what libertarianism is? If not, click this link for a short, yet succinct explanation. You might be a libertarian and not even know it!

I watched the video. I've Also some research on it before myself. I've never identified as a libertarian from reading, taking political quizzes, etc. after watching this video still wouldn't say I fully identify as such though I do agree with many of the tenants

Ah, interesting. Was there anything specific that you disagree on, with respects to that video on the philosophy of liberty?

Overall I support libertarianism. From a practicality standpoint, I think in some instances certain individuals would take advantage of it to not be gainfully employed due to pure laziness and still expect government handout.

I think some countries would take advantage of it and could be dangerous for the US in terms of say a nuclear event.

Libertarians believe that taxation is theft. So in a libertarian oriented government, there would be no social programs unless they were voluntarily funded.

Of course it would make much more sense if you wanted to be charitable to donate directly to the individual who is in need. This way you don't run the risk of the money getting into the wrong hands, or someone that you might perceive to be purely lazy.

If you'd like to learn more about Libertarianism you can download a free audio book by Murray N. Rothbard here.

I gotta run for now, nice chatting with you @chelsea88!
Nice pics, keep up that great photography!

You raise a good point. I firmly believe taxation is theft actually. I was just saying the other day maybe the government as it is now would be surprised the generosity of "the people" of they'd quit taxing us to death.
Thanks for the compliment & nice chatting with you too. Have a great day!

Well I am not a fan of Mr Trump but I do agree that the media in this instance have interpreted an event and put their own spin on it. I do however think the POTUS and other world leaders need to be held to a higher standard. If they think it is appropriate to label countries shit holes then it shows their capacity in the fields of international diplomacy and foreign trade. If this were any other world leader behaving so inappropriately they would be dismissed. Unfortunately the USA's political system is not so robust.

Also i really applaud your ability to identify even America isn't the best country to live, there will always be somewhere greener its just how we operate as human beings.

My dear, am out of Resteem service but i have upvoted this post.

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious?
The @resteembot's introduction post
Get more from @resteembot with the #resteembotsentme initiative
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

Your post was resteem by Whale ResteemService @booster007

Keep it up!
All the best!

First Follow for 3 hours | Send a minimum transaction 0.100 steem/SBD with post URL in memo | Your post gets resteemed | A post can only be resteemed once!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 65353.50
ETH 3202.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61