The Battle of the Bats

in #life7 years ago

Here is kind of a spooky and funny story that happened to me this evening.

It was dusk out. It wasn't dark. It was still light enough out to be able to see without a flashlight.
I had just finished helping my son, who lives next door, mow his yard. We had to use my mower because he overfilled his mower with oil a couple of weeks ago and it fowled the spark plug. I hadn't yet figured out an easy way to remove the excess oil yet without having to drain the gas tank, which was full. So, this evening I had the bright idea of using some paper towels and twisting them up and slipping them down into the oil tank to soak up the extra oil. That worked until the 3rd paper towel. That one decided to break off and I wasn't able to get the part that was in the tank out. So, bright idea....not so bright after all. LOL
So, after we used my mower I returned to my garage and proceeded to figure out a way to get the paper towel out of the mower. I found a tool that I thought might work and went over and tried it. Success!!
By this time it was dusk out and I was walking to my garage to put the tool away. And as usual, at this time of evening, the bats are out flying around. However, lately they have been circling and dive-bombing me as I am walking. The other night one actually hit me in the arm. Normally the bats just fly around and don't bother me.
After put the tool away in the garage I came out the door there was 1 bat that was circling closely around me and swooping down. I quickly walked to the house and as soon as I got in the door I realized I had left my beverage mug in the garage. So, back outside I went. This time there were 2 bats circling and diving at me. Then came a 3rd. I started running to the garage and I was quickly reminded that I have bursitis below my right knee. That hurt. So, I finally got to the garage and went in the door making sure to close it behind me so the bats wouldn't follow me in. I got my beverage mug and I looked out the window of the door to see where the bats were. They seemed to not be too close so I stepped out the door and immediately 2 bats came at me, then 3 and 4. I stepped back into the garage and closed the door. I turned on the light on my cell phone hoping that would deter them enough for me to get back to the house. I opened the door and pointed the light upwards towards the bats. A big fat NOPE on that one! That didn't scare them off one bit. By this time they had called more of their buddies in and there were around 6 or 8 of them. So, back in the garage I went.
Now time to brainstorm and figure out how to get to the house without getting attacked. Obviously, the odds were against me. There were way more of them and they could definitely move way faster than me. After pondering for a minute or 2 I sent my son a text message saying "I'm stuck in the garage. There's 6 or 8 bats dive-bombing me when I walk out the door. Any ideas?"
Good thing he can think quickly. He came out with a thick blanket over him and got close enough to throw it close to me then turned around and ran the other direction. The bats took off after him and I quickly grabbed it and put it over my head and headed towards the house.
Once I got into the house I was so relieved to be inside. I told my husband that the bats had me stuck in the garage. His reply was.... The dog is still outside....... So, guess what I had to do? Go back outside and get the dog out of her play yard and bring her inside. Luckily, the bats didn't see me that time cuz I was able to go out a different door away from the garage area.
That was my exciting evening.
Never a dull moment. Keeps the blood a pumping.
Have a great night everyone! Don't let the bats bite ya'll.

Sort:  

Congratulations @thorleyjo! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hi. I am a volunteer bot for @resteembot that upvoted you.
Your post was chosen at random, as part of the advertisment campaign for @resteembot.
@resteembot is meant to help minnows get noticed by re-steeming their posts


To use the bot, one must follow it for at least 3 hours, and then make a transaction where the memo is the url of the post.
The price per post is the author's reputation, devided by 1000.
(For example 44 reputation means minimum 0.044 SBD or STEEM.)
Even better: If your reputation is lower than 28 re-steeming only costs 0.001 SBD!


If you want to learn more - read the introduction post of @resteembot.
If you want help spread the word - read the advertisment program post.


Steem ON!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67544.78
ETH 3225.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65