Reach for diamonds but don't drop the gems.

in #life6 years ago (edited)

I wasn’t born with a silver spoon in my mouth.
At times I wish I had been, perhaps life would have been different then.

photo © Heather Johnsgaard
When I was growing up, being comfortable meant having a roof over your head, enough food to eat, and joyous times with family and friends. Having two coins left to rub together at the end of the week and you had beat the odds.

Everyone was in the same boat, floating down the river singing "row row row your boat, gently down the stream, merrily merrily merrily merrily, life is but a dream"!

When did making money become more important to us than making a life?

Growing up we didn’t have much, but what we did have was the ability to use what little resources we had to fulfill our needs. Two tin cans and a length of string entertained kids for hours; that was enough for a two-way phone that had served both to satiate our hunger and provide fun for hours. It was cheap, easy and didn’t break the bank.

photo © Heather Johnsgaard
Going on a date meant picnics in the park, sandwiches, sweet lemonade, and nothing but staring into each others eyes. Simple, sweet and romantic. The stuff movies are made of. But it was enough, and wedding bells would still ring without the need for pomp and pageantry.


Sometimes the best things in life are cheap and free

photo © Heather Johnsgaard
Today, it’s not enough to just make do with what you have and growing a little savings in the bank because you have the dream of one day buying a car.

Nowadays, few have savings, and the car they own is not actually theirs because the loan they took out means it still belongs to the bank. Come to think of it, for many, so might the phone, TV, couch, jewellery, wedding vows, and first born child be. And the vacation you took last winter….you’ll be paying for that for years.

We’ve turned into a non self-sufficient society, wanting everything now and getting it no matter the cost. Saving is a thing of the past, credit is where it is at these days.

We are the product of our own self-sabotage

photo & design © Heather Johnsgaard

We borrow to the max, leading to sleepless nights worrying about how to pay the bills. When sickness arises from stress and anxiety over those bills, we don’t have the money to pay for medical and the sickness gets worse. But we’ve got a great looking car, the latest phone, our dates aren’t cheap, and that wedding that cost over $10,000, lasted less than a year.


What a wicked web we weave!

Success isn’t about what you own, what you do, or how much money you have. Because money isn’t everything. Sure, money makes life easier, I’d like more, I’m sure we all would, but it will never buy you love, health, or happiness.

There is no time like the present to step back and say, "wait a minute". It’s all just stuff. It’s all just a number on the books. It’s a float down the river to never being satisfied enough.

photo & verse © Heather Johnsgaard
Diamonds, the hardest and most shiny gem, more often than not the most coveted. A diamond represents success, it oozes out the thought “wow, they must be rich”.

Personally, I can think of so many more gems that could outshine even the brightest and largest diamond money could buy... and they wouldn't break the bank. But hey, if diamonds are your thing, then go for it, search for that one perfect diamond but don't drop the gems along the way.

The smallest gem can carry the biggest smile, light up the darkest room, sing the brightest song, make the sweetest story.

These gems are not bought; they are the most precious gems, mined by even the poorest of souls.

Take what sparkles in your life and embrace the beauty, embrace the moment, embrace the feeling!

Riches are not measured by the coins in your hand, but by the gems in your life!

Yes, the best things in life are truly free

*********************************************

See my needle arts

See my artsy endeavours

Purchase my colouring book pages

Sort:  

When did making money become more important to us than making a life?

I often wonder this. I love your focus on that which is free. To me, nature is one of the most wonderful gifts, and all we have to do is step outside and take notice. :) Glad I saw you pop into #thealliance server. Good to meet you!

Thank you @katrina-ariel. We do not take advantage enough of what is around us for the taking and then wonder how we missed it when we do.

I dropped in on my computer to #thealliance but it would not connect, so now I am curious, I will check later tonight.

Thanks so much for visiting and commenting.

Loved reading your wonderful post @thistle-rock....... rich in wisdom and insight. I share many of your sentiments and I found it hard to choose which gem resonated the most with me but I think the one which says, "Knowing that nonsense is only nonsense to those who have lost their inner child," sits well with me today. And the older I get, the more 'sense' this makes.

I'm sure many steemians will be encourged and blessed by reading this blog so I will happily resteem it. Have a great weekend 'Penelope' (lol)

Thanks so much ch for resteeming, a lovely surprise.

I am glad you found some meaning in the post; with age comes wisdom, but do we ever really have to grow up? 😉

Thanks for popping by and reading the post 🤗

It was my pleasure indeed @thistle-rock It's interesting to note that when we were young, we couldn't wait to grow older and of course when we reach our latter years, we want to reverse that aging process. Keeping young at heart when our bodies tell a different story is the way to go. (lol).

Riches are not measured by the coins in your hand, but by the gems in your life!

Couldn't agree more! I like your article - I like how provocative it is :)

When did making money become more important to us than making a life?

This is a great question.

I am far from thinking that money is not important, but making money for the sake of money is not a happy way to go. Usually, life doesn't turn to be exactly the way we planned it and we need to adjust in order to enjoy it and live it. When I find myself having a desire for something I often ask myself: "Is it going to change the quality of my life?" If the answer is "No", then I don't need it. If the answer is "yes" - I go for it.

P.S. I found you because @porters featured you for the Pay it Forward Curation contest.

Thank you so much @insight-out, and thank you to @porters a gem in her own right!

Yes,

I am far from thinking that money is not important, but making money for the sake of money is not a happy way to go.

this is exactly what I mean... it is not everything and there are many things money cannot buy.

Thanks so much for stopping by for a visit. :)

Thanks so much for stopping by for a visit

:) Glad I did :)

We so want to adopt you at the Freewrite House but haven't seen you take part in the daily freewrite prompt yet. The adoption is designed to support the freewriters. Here is a prompt and the account where you find a new prompt every day.

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-409-5-minute-freewrite-monday-prompt-quarantine

Thank you @freewritehouse, I understand and that is why I asked, now I know 😊

I will keep the link handy and will participate as soon as I can.

Thanks so much for getting back to me, and explaining, in reagards to my quesrion.

Hope you join us soon :)

Well said! A good reminder to us all to take a look at what we are doing with our lives and are all those material things really worth it!
I would have always been classified as "poor" but I have never felt poor and I totally agree with your saying

Riches are not measured by the coins in your hand, but by the gems in your life!

Thanks for this gem!

Me too.... “poor”, but life is what you make of it.

...and, you are welcome 😊

What a wonderful message! I like how you illustrated it as well.

I found you because @porters featured you for the Pay it Forward Curation contest. Keep up the great work!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64657.99
ETH 3153.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59