You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Reflections on the Sunshine Laws

in #life6 years ago

I am so ambivalent on the whole idea of government secrecy. On the one hand, the anarchist in me believes we have every right to know what the government is doing in our name, with our tax money, etc. The whole idea of government secrecy makes me queasy.

On the other hand, I understand that in the real world, for reasons of safety, national security and even with the best intentions some government secrecy is necessary.

The fact is, however, this has gone way, way , way too far and I guess it's going to take another awful government scandal (of which I'm sure a whole smorgasbord awaits discovery) to strengthen things like FOIA, etc. We also need a voting populace that gives a freakin' damn ... and, oh, I'm not sure we have that in this country at all. This truly scares me.

Sort:  

Now consider what I've shared and imagine what would happen if 10 million people decided to stop watching TV and just write and track one request per week.

I often wonder why the geniuses who spend so much time watching sports can't point their eyes, ears and brains at the government for the scrutiny. Oh, yeah. Beer and circuses.

I'm actually not that scared of the current situation. I'm just a patient observer. If I ever need to use it, I can be a very expensive little pill for any agency that wants to bite me. If I would only give them cause, but I'd rather raise a family. :)

Your balance is below $0.028. @dustsweeper is now disabled for your account until you transfer new funds. Check out the Dustsweeper FAQ here: https://steemit.com/dustsweeper/@dustsweeper/dustsweeper-faq

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 67022.52
ETH 3558.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51