How I became Vegan and How YOU can do it TOO!

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Let me start by saying that there is no right or wrong way to become Vegan. We are all unique individuals and we all go about our life in our own special little ways. Transitioning from being a carnivore to a herbivore is no different. The important thing to remember is that we all have the same end goal; to live a more conscious and healthy plant based lifestyle. It doesn’t matter whether you want to be vegan for life, or vegan for one day a week or even one meal a week. What matters is that you can see that there is an injustice going on and you want to do something about it.

EDUCATION


One of the most important things about becoming Vegan is educating yourself. Take the time out to research, watch some documentaries (I recommend What The Health on Netflix), read some books. Question everything! One of the main reasons Veganism is such a hard concept for many people to grasp is because it makes you question everything you have believed to be true and we as humans hate to be wrong. My initial motivation was for my health but as I looked into it I soon realised that everything was interconnected. It is now for my health, for the animals, and for my planet. Most world issues that you think you care about more than being Vegan has some sort of connection to the exploitation of animals. Did you know that the amount of grains we grow to feed the livestock that we kill is enough to end human starvation worldwide? Let that one sink in!

Here’s two interesting articles about the effects of agriculture and how reducing meat can help feed our future population of 9 billion people: https://www.nationalgeographic.com/foodfeatures/feeding-9-billion/ http://www.onegreenplanet.org/environment/world-hunger-population-growth-ditching-meat/

MY STEPS


Some people can go cold turkey and turn Vegan overnight. I was not that person. My process of turning Vegetarian to Vegan was a year in the making and it was full of ups and downs and lots of doubt. My process went a little more like this…

  1. Cut out milk in my coffee (the only thing I had milk in really)
  2. Cut out meat (beef, pork, chicken, lamb etc)
  3. Cut out cheese (I knew it was the same as milk but I clung onto this still)
  4. Cut out eggs and anything containing dairy
  5. Cut out seafood (I’m Asian. This is the hardest thing to do I promise you)

CUTTING OUT MEAT


Surprisingly cutting out meat was the easiest for me to do. What I realised was that our body craves for the flavours of a meat dish, but not the meat itself. If you take away all the spices and seasonings from meat all you really have is a raw chunk of meat and who really craves that? This would be one of the biggest tips I have for anyone trying to reduce meat in their diet. Simply cook your favourite dishes and substitute the meat with something else! For e.g. mushrooms, eggplant, and tofu normally go really well with any meat based recipe! Fake meats is a no brainer as well but I like to keep this intake low as most of it is made out of pure gluten. Luckily there is an emerging new company in New Zealand called Sunfed Meats who have made “chicken” out of pea protein with minimal processing so it’s completely gluten free, tastes freakishly like wild chunks of meat and is so good for you! Yay for the future of vegan products!

BUT WHY DO YOU STILL WANT TO EAT FAKE MEATS?


I’m sure anyone Vegan has been asked this question before. Why do you not want to eat meat but eat fake processed meats? Doesn’t that defeat the purpose? Well, no. My purpose is not to eat anything made with animal products. It doesn’t mean that I didn’t enjoy meat dishes prior, I just decided to not be selfish and prioritise my needs over every other species. We take soy, flour, pea protein and spices and turn it into sausages, bacon and chicken nuggets instead of taking live animals, murdering them, skinning them, and grinding up their body to make sausages, bacon and chicken nuggets. Do you get my point here? None of it is healthy when compared to whole foods but at least one of it is still better for the planet and for your conscience.

QUITTING CHEESE


Did you know eating cheese triggers the part of your brain related to addiction? Read more about that here! Cutting out milk in my coffee was so easy as my favourite soy milk Bonsoy tasted even better! Plus, have you seen what milk is like before it's processed? I'm not going to put the picture in here because it's off putting and doesn't match the theme of my foods but click here if you're interested! Cutting out cheese though was a different story. I loved pretty much any type of cheese and I was so so addicted to it. I read somewhere that it takes 3 weeks to get rid of your cravings for something. I kind of did this one unintentionally but I discovered an amazing creator on Instagram who made vegan cheese for a living and she shared a lot of her recipes which I spent ages recreating. Here's her blog if anyone is interested! I was making baked garlic and rosemary camembert and garlic chive cream cheeses and it was so amazing and healthy I forgot about real cheese. I was addicted to making cheese that wasn’t cheese just to see everyone’s reaction. 3 weeks later I realised I hadn’t touched cheese and I had no craving for it whatsoever. NONE! I was beside myself! If you’re on the fence about whether or not you’ll be able to give something up, give yourself a 3 week challenge first and see how you feel afterwards! Short term goals lead to long term gains!

GIVING UP SEAFOOD

Seafood was the hardest thing for me to let go of and that’s because my typical Asian diet was based around seafood and pretty much all my favourite dishes contain fish sauce or oyster sauce. I was okay when I found out that most packets of chips contained milk but discovering sauces and condiments containing fish broke my heart. FYI: Kimchi, Thai curries, Pad Thai, Worcestershire sauce all contain fish sauce so be weary eating out! Somehow I convinced myself that fish didn’t have feelings or a sign of intellect as other animals did and that’s how I justified eating it for so long (as most people do). Cody's currently reading a book by Johnathon Balcombe that argues otherwise and it's so thought provoking so check it! It's called What A Fish Knows: The Inner Lives of Our Underwater Cousin. Cody was ready to go Vegan and I was still on the fence simply because I was clinging onto my fish sauce. Luckily I was too lazy to cook two seperate meals for us so I’ve been Vegan for 3 months now and there’s no going back once that’s happened!

COULD YOU GO BACK TO EATING MEAT?


I always get asked if I could ever go back to eating meat and I always give the same response: No. I honestly believe that once you open your mind and awaken it to the reality of the corruption and deceit of the meat and dairy industry you can’t go back! You can’t un-see the torture, you can’t un-learn the cold hard facts, you can’t un-feel the dulling effects that these animal products had on your body. It is truly eye opening and I invite you to test it out to see what it does for your own body and mind!

Don’t believe me? I challenge you to this...

Eat a pizza with cheese and meat on it and note how you feel afterwards. Do you feel sluggish? Are you bloated? Do you feel good? On a different day eat a pizza with no cheese or meat on it and note how you feel afterwards. For me, pizza was not a pizza without cheese on it and it was probably one of the last things I ever dared to eat Vegan. It was also one of the biggest things that made me realise how cheese makes you feel and that it was the source of all that greasy oil! After eating pizza I normally feel sluggish and guilty for what I just did to my body but once I removed the cheese I felt great! Now don’t go doing this challenge half assed and coming back to me saying it was bullshit. Make sure the pizza has a variety of toppings with flavour! My favourite is adding garlic, pineapple, jalapeños and BBQ sauce with all my favourite veggies! Give it a go and let me know how it went!

I hope this gives you a better insight on the thought processes and what it's like transitioning to a Vegan diet for you curious minds out there! And for those who are considering giving it a go I hope this helps answer some questions as well as some useful tips. Feel free to ask me any questions in the comments below and I will get back to all of them!

xx Ana

Disclaimer: All food photos are my own creations and everything is completely plant based!

If you like what you see here please follow me on my Instagram account for more food photos and to watch my daily life through my stories!

Sort:  

Ana, your story is amazing and I can relate to almost everything you wrote! Veganism is a new journey for me as well but so far I really enjoy it! And the way it makes your body feel...this is priceless!

Thank you! That is so good to hear! It's nice to know that others can relate to a change that means so much to me. And of course to your own health! Thank you for reading it!

Great of you to share your advice! Definitely noticed the difference myself as well in feeling less sluggish after eating big meals than before :)

I just know how hard it can be especially without some support so thought I'd share my thoughts! It blew my mind how different I felt! I couldn't believe we did that to our own body!

Very awesome post! I would advice you to note how you feel after eating garlic. The more garlic the more obvious its toxic properties will be made obvious.

Garlic is considered to be toxic. This is mostly due to its sulphone hydroxyl ion component of garlic, which is capable of penetrating the blood-brain barrier, and is toxic to brain cells. Garlic is also highly toxic to dogs and cats and can fatally poison animals. In Ayurvedic medicine, the oldest form of medicine, garlic is not recommended for any substantial treatments.

My personal experience confirm those toxic properties of garlic.

http://www.toomuchof.com/too-much-garlic/
http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/health/1939485.stm

Thanks for reading it! I will definitely have to observe how I feel after garlic. I have always been curious as to why people with digestive issues cut out things like garlic and onion but have yet to research it myself.

Have you cut it out completely or is it more in moderation?

I really avoid it in everything I buy. Sometimes there will be some in some chips or hummus but that's pretty much it. Eating some can easily make falling asleep almost impossible for many hours and if I do fall asleep from exhaustion it can seriously hamper restfulness.

When going to eat to some places I specify that I don't eat garlic.

Ah that's exactly how it affects my partner's father who has digestive issues. So interesting to know! I'm definitely intrigued. I wonder if it has anything to do with gut health and acidity levels? Going to look into this one!

This is admirable, even noble. I've tried to go vegan twice in my life, but sadly I'm like a leopard who can't change her spots. I'm not so much a carnivore as I am a foodie, and could simply never deny myself what my tastebuds desire.

Good for you though.
Great post.

Haha aww at least you gave it an honest go! I am a huge foodie too and outlined it a bit more in my introduction post. But basically instead of thinking about what I couldn't eat I turned it around to creating new and exciting foods! So to me being Vegan is like being introduced to a whole new world of food.

Thanks for reading it!

Good for you, I've tried to be a vegetarian in the past. I couldn't even last 12 hours. However hard it can be, I tried my best to be a vegetarian on Monday to support global movement (Meatless Monday), once a week, cut meat.

Once a week is an amazing contribution to the world! Honestly! It's amazing when you read the facts about how much water you save simply from eating one vegan meal so good on you :)

Great blog! This will be super helpful for people wanting to transition over!

Thank you! I really hope it does help them!

Very informative post! I too am a vegan and I love reading about different journeys to get there

Thank you! I love reading about it too because it’s all so unique but with similar purposes at the same time. So interesting!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63119.91
ETH 2695.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56