I've never been a fan of babies

in #life7 years ago

Like, yeah they're cute but they cant like do stuff.

One of my workmates brought his baby into the office today. His son is about 6 months old now and he has brought him in a few times now so we have definitely watched him grow I guess. He has grown big.

At morning tea, he brought his son out to play around, look cute and possibly get a cuddle or two - I wasnt too inclined to cuddle him. Not because I only like certain babies and his just didnt make the cut of my affection but merely because I'm not too keen on them.


I will admit though, this baby is pretty damn cute.


Like I've never really been much of a baby-person. I have like a short attention span when it comes to kids - I can cuddle you for as long as your happy but once you get restless or bored or hungry and shit, I start to stress out. I start to sweat profusely and start looking around for an adult to give assistance but then I realise damn, I am an adult now. Shit!.

How did all my school mates do it?

Yeah, you heard right. I am pretty much that last one of my school year to have a child (maybe a slight over-exaggeration but definitely not far from the truth). Everyone of my mates from school are taking care of fucking humans of their own and I struggle to get my washing done every week. Yep, you heard that right too. Three words. No Clean Towels.


When I think of actually having children of my own one day, I think it would be neat. I find the concept of pregnancy quite amazing - You make a child with the person you love and create a new human thats half you and half your partner. But I dont think I'm anywhere near ready.

I think about how things would work if I were to get pregnant, seeing as we both work full time would I become a stay at home mum? Would I return to work as soon as I am able and put the kid into daycare? Would I be able to do part time hours so that I dont miss too much of my kid's life? Would I just become a negligent parent who cares more about their work than their kid?

I worry that I will never be good enough or that there will never be a right time in life.

But I do hope that my maternal instincts kick in when its time and I will know.
Just like all mothers know.


Big ups to any steemian out there that has a child or children - I salute you.
Kids are cute but...


She's pretty big job.

Sort:  

My maternal instincts never kicked in and it's waaaay too late now. I put it down to looking after my baby sister (willingly) a lot when I was 10. I think I used up all my maternal instincts then. Just found you this morning and following. Look out for a kiwi post from @sift666 in the next day or so.

Wow, that strikes a cord with me cos I had to babysit my little sister at a young age too. Maybe thats it, thats where my maternal instincts have gone?! haha

Thanks for the comment and for following! Will follow both you and @sift666 and keep an eye out 😁 Cheers to the Kiwis!!

Stop putting pressure on yourself., I never wanted kids then at 28 its all I could think about, you will know when the time is right :)

Oh phew! I feel so pressured all the time - My mum always harps on about wanting a grandchild lol

Tell her its your partners fault that will shift the blame four a while lol dont worry you will know when your ready :)

Haha ...I see a common link here 😉 Give your partner a weekly allowance and blame him for no kiddies hahahahaha I love you!

You have to learn to take charge as men just can't do it and its always a Mans fault when things go wrong, its just life lol

😂😂 Speaking my mind!

Love your look and attitude on life.

When it come to men I can be a bit grrrr lol

Wow, I'm blessed as my mother not once in my life has harped on me about giving her grand babies. In fact, I always wanted kids but now that I'm in my 30's not sure I'm as high on the idea. Be to old to play sports with them by the time they are teens....hahaha

30s is definitely not too old at all!!
You'll be ripping it up on the d.floor with your son or daughter. If it makes you happy, do it man! 😊 Thanks for the comment!

I have never wanted kids or marriage until now, something about conquering the corporate ladder and having no one to come home too effect. Now in my mid 20's, I find children fascinating. I'm curious about them. Who will they become or want to become. How can they be so much like myself and my husband and yet completely different. -All in good timing

Thanks for the comment, yeah I totally understand where youre coming from. Children are so intriguing yet so intimidating at the same time haha

I love your writing, It's hard not to comment. You got a faithful follower :)

Oh thank you so much. I really appreciate that 😏

Have started following you too! Look forward to seeing your posts xx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98